Skip to main content
garden of Gallery Mutter Fourage
Mutter Fourage Berlin © Bezirksamt Steglitz-Zehlendorf

Mutter Fourage

Culture in the open

Culture in an idyllic setting: Mutter Fourage is a gallery, a cultural centre, garden centre, and café in Berlin's Wannsee district.

Chairs are set up on the bumpy cobbles, the air is filled with the smell of freshly baked cake, and flowers are in bloom everywhere. The courtyard looks like it has stood still in time, a cosy idyll where the hustle and bustle of city life is a distant memory. This is Mutter Fourage, an ensemble of "culture barn", gourmet shop, and café.

The name is a play on "Mutter Courage", the German name for Brecht's "Mother Courage," and the fact that it is located in a former feed store, which sold "Fourage" in German. The ensemble has a Mediterranean flair with an ancient culture barn with a rare diamond-shaped timber framing, a gallery, a nursery with native perennials and plants from southern Europe and a courtyard café with a natural food shop.

Culture Barn and Gallery

Over the past thirty years, the "culture barn" has grown from being a true insider's tip into a well-known institution. Mutter Fourage offers a regular programme of cultural events in this unique atmosphere: music (classical, jazz, world music), theatre, and literature. The summer concerts in the barn are the highlight of the season, as is the tango festival held here.

The barn also hosts an event on 21 November, to mark the anniversary of German author Heinrich von Kleist's and his lover Henriette Vogel's suicide pact. Particularly striking is the cantilevered Zollinger-style roof in the barn, an innovative design made from diamond-shaped components.

The gallery is especially dedicated to showing works by artists from the Wannsee region. Changing exhibitions feature photographs, paintings, and sculptures, often featuring the Wannsee or the lakes to the west in Potsdam. Another focus is to rediscover the lesser-known artists of the Berlin Secession that formed around Max Liebermann.

Café and food shop

The freshly baked cakes are made from regional products and are offered in the cosy Hofcafé along with sumptuous breakfasts. The fine food shop Feine Kost also hearkens back to corner shops of yore, offering many regional and original products that are only available here. Perfect for a small memento of a beautiful day's outing to Mutter Fourage.

Garden Centre

The Mutter Fourage garden centre also provides a wide range of plants and shrubs to turn your own home into an idyllic oasis. The terracotta containers imported from Italy give the courtyard an extraordinary Mediterranean ambience.

Direkt zum Inhalt
Hofcafé, Kulturscheune und Galerie Mutter Fourage Berlin
Hofcafé, Kulturscheune und Galerie Mutter Fourage © Bezirksamt Steglitz-Zehlendorf

Mutter Fourage

Kultur im Grünen

Futter für die Seele: Auf dem Hofgelände einer ehemaligen Futterhandlung liegt das idyllische Ensemble aus Kulturscheune, Galerie, Café und Gärtnerei – die Mutter Fourage.

Auf dem buckligen Kopfsteinpflaster stehen Stühle, der frischgebackene Kuchen duftet, überall blühen Blumen. Das Hofgelände wirkt wie aus der Zeit gefallen, eine gemütliche Idylle, in der die Hektik des Großstadtlebens ganz weit weg ist. Hier ist die Mutter Fourage, ein Ensemble aus Kulturscheune, Feinkostladen und Café.

Der eigenwillige Name leitet sich davon ab, dass sich früher auf dem Gelände eine Fouragehandlung, also eine Futtermittelhandlung, befand. Das mediterran anmutende Ensemble besteht aus einer alten Kulturscheune mit seltenem Rautenfachwerk, einer Galerie, einer Gärtnerei mit einheimischen Stauden, südlichen Gewächsen sowie einem Hofcafé mit Naturkostladen.

Kulturscheune und Galerie

In den letzten 30 Jahren hat sich die Kulturscheune vom lokalen Geheimtipp zu einer bekannten Institution entwickelt. In der Kulturscheune Mutter Fourage wird ein regelmäßiges Kulturprogramm mit Klassik, Jazz, Weltmusik, Theater und Literatur aufgeführt. Die Sommerkonzerte in der Scheune bilden den Höhepunkt der Saison.

Dazu kommen ein Tangofestival und eine Veranstaltung am 21. November, dem Todestag von Heinrich von Kleist und Henriette Vogel. Besonders markant ist das freitragende Zollinger-Dach der Scheune, eine innovative Konstruktion aus rautenförmigen Elementen.

Die Galerie ist vor allem den Künstlern aus der Wannsee-Region gewidmet. Wechselnde Ausstellungen zeigen zeitgenössische Fotografien, Bilder und Skulpturen mit Bezug zum Wannsee und den Potsdamer Seen. Ein weiterer Schwerpunkt ist die Wiederentdeckung der Künstler der Berliner Secession rund um Max Liebermann, welche heute weniger bekannt sind.

Hofcafé und Feinkostladen

Frisch und aus regionalen Produkten zubereitet sind die leckeren Kuchen und das üppige Frühstück im gemütlichen Hofcafé. Auch der Feinkostladen Feine Kost wirkt wie ein Tante-Emma-Laden von früher. Viele regionale und originelle Produkte, die nur dort erhältlich sind, stehen in den Regalen. Eine kleine Erinnerung an einen schönen Tag in der Mutter Fourage können Sie also mitnehmen.

Gärtnerei

Für die Blumenpracht sorgt die Gärtnerei mit ihrem breiten Angebot an Pflanzen und Stauden. Ihre aus Italien importierten Terracottagefäße verleihen dem Hof sein außergewöhnliches mediterranes Ambiente