Skip to main content
Himmelbeet community garden in Berlin
Community garden Himmelbeet © visitBerlin

Himmelbeet

The great multicultural community garden

One of the great community projects in Wedding is the Himmelbeet: And since December 2021, the community garden, whose existence has been threatened time and again, finally has a permanent home: directly on Gartenstraße near Grenzstraße not far from the Humboldthain S-Bahn station.

Of course, everyone in the neighbourhood is still invited to dig, garden and harvest to their heart's content. And of course to enjoy: For example, a delicious slice of home-baked pizza from the garden's own stone oven and delicious coffee.

himmelbeet - nur noch bis Ende 2020 auf der Fläche Ruheplatzstraße / Ecke Schulstraße
Himmelbeet © himmelbeet 2019

Nearby is the Dorotheenstädtische Friedhof (cemetery). Here, the gravestones and memorial plaques read like a "Who's Who" of Germany's intellectual elite. Philosophers like Georg Wilhelm Friedrich Hegel and Johann Gottlieb Fichte are buried here. The writers Heinrich Mann, Arnold Zweig and Anna Seghers have also found their final resting place here. Likewise Bertolt Brecht and Helene Heigel.

Find out more about the city’s neighbourhoods with our Going Local Berlin app.

Direkt zum Inhalt
himmelbeet - nur noch bis Ende 2020 auf der Fläche Ruheplatzstraße / Ecke Schulstraße
Der Gemeinschaftsgarten Himmelbeet © visitBerlin

Himmelbeet

Der große interkulturellen Gemeinschaftsgarten

Selbst säen, jäten und ernten – das geht mitten in Berlin. Im Himmelbeet in Wedding arbeiten alle zusammen. Und Sie können das selbstgemachte Essen kosten.

Eines der großartigen Gemeinschaftsprojekte in Wedding ist das Himmelbeet: Und seit Dezember 2021 hat der Gemeinschaftsgarten, der immer wieder in seiner Existenz bedroht war, endlich auch ein festes Zuhause: direkt an der Gartenstraße in der Nähe Grenzstraße unweit der S-Bahn Humboldthain.

Natürlich sind weiterhin alle im Kiez eingeladen, nach Herzenslust zu grubbern, zu gärtnern, zu ernten. Und natürlich zu genießen: Zum Beispiel ein köstliches Stück selbstgebackene Pizza aus dem garteneigenen Steinofen und leckeren Kaffee.

himmelbeet - nur noch bis Ende 2020 auf der Fläche Ruheplatzstraße / Ecke Schulstraße
Himmelbeet © himmelbeet 2019

Ganz in der Nähe befindet sich der Dorotheenstädtische Friedhof. Hier lesen sich die Grabsteine und Gedenktafeln wie das „Who is Who“ der geistigen Elite Deutschlands. Philosophen wie Georg Wilhelm Friedrich Hegel und Johann Gottlieb Fichte sind hier begraben. Die Schriftsteller Heinrich Mann, Arnold Zweig und Anna Seghers haben hier ebenfalls ihre letzte Ruhe gefunden. Ebenso Bertolt Brecht und Helene Heigel.

Mehr über Berlins Kieze verrät Ihnen unsere Berlin-App Going Local.