Skip to main content
Theatre location Neues Theater of Hans Otto Theater in Potsdam
Hans Otto Theater / Neues Theater Hans Otto Theater / Prof. Dieter Leistner

Hans Otto Theater Potsdam

Theatre with a view

In a cool glass building with lakeside views, Hans Otto Theater Potsdam puts the entire world of theatre on stage: great classics, modern experiments, and engaging children's theatre.

Hans Otto Theater Potsdam puts the entire world of theatre on stage: great classics, modern experiments, and engaging children's theatre. It also offers musical performances, guest performances, and readings.

Venues

The Neues Theater am Seeufer, opened in 2006, is the ensemble's current home. The striking building with the shell-shaped roof has lovely views of the Tiefer See from its glass-enclosed foyer. The Hans Otto Theater also performs in the city's historic Reithalle venue, which is now used for experimental ideas and forms of theatre. The nachtboulevard series also takes place in the Reithalle, featuring nights devoted to art and literature, new drama and cultural discussions, film, music, and even the occasional party. Each summer, the Gasometer at the Neues Theater becomes an open-air stage for witty summer fare.

History of the Hans Otto Theater

Even if the buildings are fairly new, the company's history goes back much further. In 1946, shortly after the war, the Brandenburg State Theatre was founded in Potsdam and renamed after actor Hans Otto a decade later. Otto had been persecuted and eventually murdered by the Nazi regime as a communist and trade unionist. However, the planned reconstruction of Potsdam's city centre and the theater were much delayed. After unification in 1990, the shell of the building was demolished because it was decided to rebuild the former Potsdam city palace as a new home for the Brandenburg state legislature. The company moved to a temporary building where it remained for the next fourteen years.

Fun and games for all ages

A special emphasis in the programme are its pieces for children and adolescents. A third of its performances are fairy tales, a youth drama, or a popular picture book brought to life on the stage. The youth club HOT also offers workshops and trips to the theatre for the next generation.

Arrival by bus and train

The theatre also offers a special service for everyone travelling by public transport with a digital display of the next departures.

Parking

Audiences can park in the car park on Schiffbauergasse for €3 (Mon-Fri from 6 pm, Sat/Sun from 2 pm) with a special "Culture Ticket".

 

Opening hours

Monday 10:00 – 18:00
Tuesday 10:00 – 18:00
Wednesday 10:00 – 18:00
Thursday 10:00 – 18:00
Friday 10:00 – 18:00
Saturday 10:00 – 14:00

Direkt zum Inhalt
Hans Otto Theater / Neues Theater
Hans Otto Theaters / Neues Theater Hans Otto Theater / Prof. Dieter Leistner

Hans Otto Theater Potsdam

Theater mit Aussicht

In einem coolen Glasbau mit Seeblick zeigt das Hans Otto Theater Potsdam die ganze Welt des Theaters: Große Schauspielkunst in Klassikern, moderne Experimente und Kinder- und Jugendtheater.

Das Hans Otto Theater Potsdam zeigt die ganze Welt des Theaters: Die großen Klassiker der Antike, moderne Stücke und zeitgenössische Dramen und Komödien. Außerdem steht das Haus auch für Musikaufführungen, Gastspiele und Lesungen offen.

Spielstätten

Das 2006 eröffnete Neue Theater am Seeufer ist die Heimat des Ensembles. Der auffallende Bau mit dem schalenförmigen Dach bietet vom Glasfoyer aus einen besonders schönen Blick über den Tiefen See. Neben dem Neuen Theater am Tiefen See bespielt das Hans Otto Theater auch die historische Reithalle. Hier probieren die Künstler neue Ideen aus und experimentieren mit Theaterformen. Auch die Reihe nachtboulevard mit Langen Nächten mit Kunst und Literatur, Neuer Dramatik und Diskurs, Film, Musik und Party läuft in der Neuen Reithalle. Zum Sommerbeginn verwandelt sich außerdem der Gasometer am Neuen Theater in eine Open-Air-Spielstätte für launigen Theaterspaß.

Geschichte des Hans Otto Theaters

Auch wenn das Theater recht neu ist, so geht doch die Theatergeschichte viel weiter zurück. Nach dem Krieg wurde 1946 in Potsdam das Brandenburgische Landestheater gegründet, das zehn Jahre später nach dem Schauspieler Hans Otto benannt wurde. Hans Otto war im Nationalsozialismus als Kommunist und Gewerkschafter gefoltert und ermordet worden. Der geplante Wiederaufbau der Potsdamer Innenstadt und des Theaters verzögerten sich jedoch. Nach der Wende wurde der Rohbau abgerissen, da dort das Potsdamer Stadtschloss mit neuen Sitz des Landtages Brandenburg wieder errichtet wurde. Das Theater zog in einen provisorischen Bau, genannt die die „Blechbüchse“, das es insgesamt vierzehn Jahre bespielte.

Spiel und Spaß für Groß und Klein

Ein besonderer Schwerpunkt im Programm sind Stücke für Kinder und Jugendliche. Jede dritte Inszenierung ist ein Märchenspiel, ein Jugenddrama oder ein auf die Bühne gebrachtes Bilderbuch. Ganz dem Nachwuchs widmet sich auch der Jugendclub HOT mit Workshops und gemeinsamen Theaterbesuchen.

Anfahrt mit Bus und Bahn

Für alle Besucher, die mit dem Bus oder der Bahn gekommen sind, hat das Theater noch einen besonderen Service. Eine digitale Anzeige im Foyer informiert über  die nächsten Anbindungen.

Parken

Für das Parkhaus in der Schiffbauergasse gibt es ein Kultur-Ticket (Mo-Fr  ab 18 Uhr, Sa/So ab 14 Uhr) für drei Euro pro Aufenthalt.

Öffnungszeiten

Montag 10:00 – 18:00
Dienstag 10:00 – 18:00
Mittwoch 10:00 – 18:00
Donnerstag 10:00 – 18:00
Freitag 10:00 – 18:00
Samstag 10:00 – 14:00