Skip to main content

Tobias Meinhart is currently the hottest German jazz export: he has been an active member of the New York jazz scene for 15 years. With his new project Sonic River, he and his first-class band have dedicated themselves to setting literature and poetry to music.


  • TOBIAS MEINHART - TENOR SAXOPHONE
  • EDEN LADIN - PIANO
  • MATT PENMAN - BASS
  • MARK WHITFIELD JR. - DRUMS
  • + SPECIAL GUEST RAMIRO OLACIREGUI - GUITAR

The German saxophonist Tobias Meinhart is a formative personality in the New York jazz scene. He has lived in the metropolis for 15 years and performs regularly in renowned clubs such as the Blue Note, Smalls and Birdland. He tours internationally with his bands and has been nominated for an ECHO Award as well as being voted Rising Star on the saxophone in the Downbeat Critics Poll.
He grew up in Wörth an der Donau and studied in Basel, Amsterdam and Bern. Since 2010 he has lived permanently in New York, where he has become a permanent fixture; he has played with musicians such as Aaron Goldberg, Kurt Rosenwinkel, Ingrid Jensen and many more.

Ramiro Olaciregui currently lives in Berlin. He studied composition at the renowned Jazz Institute Berlin and graduated with a Master's degree. Previously, he received his Bachelor's degree at Berklee College of Music in Boston, USA (2006) and lived in New York for a period of 3 years. He has also made a name for himself in the South American jazz scene through his participation in several projects both as a leader and sideman, including Pies en la Tierra, Vio Trio + 2 Tíos and the World Citizen Band. Most recently, he attracted attention for his ambitious large ensemble R.O.J.O.. Olaciregui has performed with a variety of renowned musicians around the world, including Randy Brecker, Jimmy Heath, George Garzone, Seamus Blake, Tom Kennedy and Jeff Berlin.

Eden Ladin is an Israeli-American jazz pianist. Growing up in Tel Aviv, he came into contact with jazz and related music at an early age through his father. He began to play the drums and later the piano and showed a keen interest in music. At the age of 14, he began to devote himself to jazz and became part of the Israeli scene. A scholarship enabled him to move to New York, where he received lessons from renowned teachers at the New Scholl for Jazz and Contemporary Music, including Lee Konitz, Kevin Hays, Vijay Iyer and Reggie Workman. He is now an integral part of the scene, a respected leader and sought-after sideman. His musical partners include and have included: Wallace Roney, Avishai Cohen, Mike Clark, Joel Frahm, Mark Guiliana, Donny McCaslin, Eric Harland and more.

Originally from New Zealand, Matt Penman moved to the U.S. in 1994 to attend Berklee College of Music, and to New York in 1995, from where he performs, records, and teaches internationally as one of the most sought-after bassists in jazz music. In 2009, Matt formed the quartet James Farm with Joshua Redman, Aaron Parks and Eric Harland. The band released their debut album on Nonesuch Records in 2011. In addition to his main projects, Matt performs regularly in Nils Wogram's Root 70 and in a trio with Aaron Goldberg. His other notable partners include John Scofield, Joe Lovano, Wayne Shorter, Kurt Rosenwinkel, Kenny Werner, Dave Douglas, Chris Cheek, Seamus Blake, Wolfgang Muthspiel, Guillermo Klein, Rebecca Martin, Nicholas Payton, Fred Hersch, and Madeleine Peyroux.

Drummer Mark Whitfield Jr. was born into jazz. As the son of the great guitarist Mark Whitfield, it was only a matter of time that he would discover music for himself and become a musician as talented as he was dedicated. He studied at Berklee, where he took bie such greats as Joe Lovano and Terri Lyne Carrington. Now also based in New York, it's hard to imagine the scene without him, working with Kenny Garrett, Orrin Evans and many more. He is also part of the Black Art Jazz Collective, with Jeremy Pelt and Wayne Escoffery among others; one of the busiest formations of recent years.

Start: 21:00 h (Entry 20:00 h)
Artist Support Fee: 25€

Buy ticket

Additional information
Dates
April 2024
MoTuWeThFrSaSu
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30

Direkt zum Inhalt

Tobias Meinhart ist der derzeit angesagteste deutsche Jazzexport: Seit 15 Jahren ist er aktives Mitglied der New Yorker Jazzszene. Mit seinem neuen Projekt Sonic River widmet er sich zusammen mit seiner erstklassigen Band der Vertonung von Literatur und Poesie.


  • TOBIAS MEINHART - TENOR SAXOPHONE
  • EDEN LADIN - PIANO
  • MATT PENMAN - BASS
  • MARK WHITFIELD JR. - DRUMS
  • + SPECIAL GUEST RAMIRO OLACIREGUI - GUITAR

Der deutsche Saxophonist Tobias Meinhart ist eine prägende Persönlichkeit in der New Yorker Jazzszene. Seit 15 Jahren ist lebt er in der Metropole und tritt regelmäßig in renommierten Clubs wie dem Blue Note, Smalls und Birdland auf. International tourt er mit seinen Bands und wurde sowohl für einen ECHO Award nominiert als auch in der Downbeat Critics Poll zum Rising Star auf dem Saxophon gewählt.
Er wuchs in Wörth an der Donau auf und studierte in Basel, Amsterdam und Bern. Seit 2010 lebt er fest in New York, wo er sich zu einer festen Größe entwickelt hat; er spielte mit MusikerInnen wie Aaron Goldberg, Kurt Rosenwinkel, Ingrid Jensen und vielen mehr.

Ramiro Olaciregui lebt derzeit in Berlin. Er studierte Komposition am renommierten Jazz Institute Berlin und schloss das Studium mit einem Master ab. Zuvor erhielt er seinen Bachelor am Berklee College of Music in Boston, USA (2006) und lebte für einen Zeitraum von 3 Jahren in New York. Darüber hinaus hat er sich in der südamerikanischen Jazzszene durch seine Teilnahme an mehreren Projekten sowohl als Leader als auch als Sideman einen Namen gemacht, darunter Pies en la Tierra, Vio Trio + 2 Tíos und die World Citizen Band. Zuletzt machte er durch sein ehrgeiziges Large Ensemble R.O.J.O. auf sich aufmerksam. Olaciregui ist mit einer Vielzahl renommierter Musiker auf der ganzen Welt aufgetreten, darunter Randy Brecker, Jimmy Heath, George Garzone, Seamus Blake, Tom Kennedy und Jeff Berlin.

Eden Ladin ist ein israelisch-US-amerikanischer Jazzpianist. Aufgewachsen in Tel Aviv, kam er durch seinen Vater früh mit Jazz und Artverwandter Musik in Kontakt. Er begann Schlagzeug und Später Klavier zu spielen und zeigte ein reges Interesse an der Musik. Mit 14 begann er sich dem Jazz zu verschreiben und wurde Teil der israelischen Szene. Durch ein Stipendium konnte er nach New York ziehen, wo er an der New Scholl for Jazz and Contemporary Music Unterricht bei renommierten Dozenten erhielt, darunter Lee Konitz, Kevin Hays, Vijay Iyer, Reggie Workman.
Inzwischen ist er integraler Bestandteil der Szene, respektierter Leader und gefragter Sideman. Zu seinen musikalischen Partnern gehören und gehörten: Wallace Roney, Avishai Cohen, Mike Clark, Joel Frahm, Mark Guiliana, Donny McCaslin, Eric Harland und mehr.

Ursprünglich aus Neuseeland stammend, zog Matt Penman 1994 in die USA, um das Berklee College of Music zu besuchen, und 1995 nach New York, von wo aus er als einer der gefragtesten Bassisten der Jazzmusik international auftritt, Aufnahmen macht und unterrichtet. 2009 gründete Matt zusammen mit Joshua Redman, Aaron Parks und Eric Harland das Quartett James Farm. Die Band veröffentlichte 2011 ihr Debütalbum bei Nonesuch Records. Neben seinen Hauptprojekten tritt Matt regelmäßig in Nils Wogram's Root 70 und im Trio mit Aaron Goldberg auf. Zu seinen weiteren namhaften Partnern zählen John Scofield, Joe Lovano, Wayne Shorter, Kurt Rosenwinkel, Kenny Werner, Dave Douglas, Chris Cheek, Seamus Blake, Wolfgang Muthspiel, Guillermo Klein, Rebecca Martin, Nicholas Payton, Fred Hersch und Madeleine Peyroux.

Schlagzeuger Mark Whitfield Jr. wurde der Jazz in die Wiege gelegt. Als Sohn des großen Gitarristen Mark Whitfield war es nur eine Frage der Zeit, dass er die Musik für sich entdeckte und ein ebenso talentierter wie engagierter Musiker werden würde. Er studierte in Berklee, wo er bie Größen wie Joe Lovano oder Terri Lyne Carrington nahm. Inzwischen ebenfalls in New York ansässig, ist er aus der Szene nicht mehr wegzudenken und arbeitete mit Kenny Garrett, Orrin Evans und vielen mehr. Außerdem ist er Teil des Black Art Jazz Collective, unter anderem mit Jeremy Pelt und Wayne Escoffery; einer der umtriebigsten Formationen der letzten Jahre.

Beginn: 21:00 Uhr (Einlass ab 20:00 Uhr)
Artist Support Fee: 25€


Ticket kaufen

Zusätzliche Informationen
Termine
April 2024
MoDiMiDoFrSaSo
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30