Skip to main content
The event you were looking for has already taken place. Find many more events, tips and recommendations in Berlin's biggest event calendar on

With its new chief conductor Joana Mallwitz and artist in residence Augustin Hadelich as violin soloist, the Konzerthausorchester Berlin is a guest at the Musikfest Berlin in the Philharmonie this season.

"Dawn", "Sunday Morning", "Moonlight" and "Storm" are the names of the four "interludes" from Benjamin Britten's opera "Peter Grimes" from 1945, which the composer compiled into an orchestral suite depicting sea moods.

The violin concerto by Irish-born, US-based composer Donnacha Dennehy was written for Augustin Hadelich in 2021. "It goes very well with the music festival," the violinist describes the complex piece. “Donnacha likes to write minimalist textures without being dogmatic. He composed a virtuoso solo part for me that tells a story of its own. The Irish fiddle tradition resonates, as does French spectralism.”

The concert concludes with Beethoven's Symphony No. 7, which premiered in 1812 and was a huge success. The Beethoven House in Bonn describes it as an "expression of joy, happiness and affirmation of life", Theodor W. Adorno even called it "the symphony par excellence".


Benjamin Britten (1913 – 1976)

Four Sea Interludes op. 33a (1945)

from the opera Peter Grimes

Donnacha Dennehy (*1970)

Violin Concerto (2020)

German premiere

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770 – 1827)

Symphony No. 7 in A major, Op. 92 (1811/1812)
Additional information
Participating artists
Augustin Hadelich
Konzerthausorchester Berlin
Joana Mallwitz