Skip to main content
The event you were looking for has already taken place. Find many more events, tips and recommendations in Berlin's biggest event calendar on

Kirill Petrenko conducts Mozart, Berg and Brahms

Kirill Petrenko travels through the German-Austrian musical tradition with works that again and again look into the abyss.

Mozart’s Symphony No. 29, for example, intrigues as a result of its mixture of lightness and subliminal despair, while in Berg’s Three Pieces for Orchestra, echoes of waltzes and marches are distorted into nightmares and seem to anticipate the catastrophes of the 20th century. Finally, Brahms’ Fourth Symphony is one of the most sonorous and magnificent works of the late Romantic repertoire but which at the same time is suffused with a touching melancholy.

  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart Symphony No. 29 in A major KV 201
  • Alban Berg Three orchestral pieces op. 6 (revised version from 1929)
  • Johannes Brahms Symphony No. 4 in E minor op. 98
Additional information
Participating artists
Berliner Philharmoniker
Kirill Petrenko