Skip to main content

Works by Ali-Zadeh, Amirov, Bach and Desyatnikov

New European Strings under the direction of Dmitry Sitkovetsky present works of Azerbaijani composers Franghiz Ali-Zadeh and Fikret Amirov (1922-1984). Franghiz Ali-Zadeh succeeded in creating a synthesis between the Western compositional technique and the Eastern tonality (with Mugham art) in the New Music. Fikret Amirov's (1922-1984) works are considered a prime example of Azerbaijani classical music. The evening will also feature performances of works by J.S. Bach and Leonid Desyatnikov transcribed for string instruments by Dmitry Sitkovetsky.

Konzerthaus Berlin - Kleiner Saal
Konzerthaus Berlin - Kleiner Saal Promo


Johann Sebastian Bach - Suite in five movements, composed from the English and French Suites for piano and arranged for string orchestra by Dmitry Sitkovetsky

Leonid Desyatnikov - "Bukovina Suite" for strings, arranged for piano from preludes by Dmitry Sitkovetsky

Fikret Amirov - "Nizami" - Symphony for string orchestra, 2nd and 4th movements

Franghiz Ali-Zadeh - "Shyshtar Metamorphoses" for string orchestra

Franghiz Ali-Zadeh - Reqs (Azerbaijani "Dance") for string ensemble in different instrumentation

Buy ticket

Additional information

Educational Services
Participating artists
New European Strings
Dmitry Sitkovetsky (Leitung)
Konzerthaus Berlin - Kleiner Saal