Skip to main content

mit Alina Pogostkina

More than a touch of fin de siècle pervades the Great Hall in this concert by the Konzerthausorchester under its Principal Guest Conductor Juraj Valčuha, with Webern's idyll "Im Sommerwind" and the fantastically orchestrated symphonic poems by Richard Strauss dedicated to two human archetypes. By the time the composer put together the suite from his 1911 operatic masterpiece "Der Rosenkavalier" in 1945, the world had long since become a different place. In between, Korngold, former Viennese piano prodigy and from 1934 film composer in Hollywood, composed his Violin Concerto as an emigrant in the USA.

Juraj Valčuha
Juraj Valčuha © Martin Walz

  • Richard Strauss - "Don Juan" - Symphonic poem after Nikolaus Lenau op. 20
  • Erich Wolfgang Korngold - Concerto for Violin and Orchestra in D major op. 35
  • Intermission
  • Anton Webern - "In the summer wind" - Idyll for large orchestra
  • Richard Strauss - "Till Eulenspiegel's Merry Pranks" - Symphonic Poem op. 28
Additional information

Educational Services
Participating artists
Konzerthausorchester Berlin
Juraj Valčuha (Dirigent)
Alina Pogostkina (Violine)
Konzerthaus Berlin - Großer Saal
Konzerthaus Berlin - Großer Saal
Konzerthaus Berlin - Großer Saal