Skip to main content
The event you were looking for has already taken place. Find many more events, tips and recommendations in Berlin's biggest event calendar on

mit dem Konzerthausorchester Berlin und Joana Mallwitz

Welcome, Joana Mallwitz, the new chief conductor is here! For the beginning of the journey together she has selected three first symphonies.

"Prokofiev's First is musical and chamber music-like - both things I always look for when making music. It is a nod to the past, with a great deal of respect for the classics, but at the same time it is edgy and full of wit.”

Then you can discover Kurt Weill's rarely performed Symphony No. 1, written in Berlin in 1921, which is the focus of Joana Mallwitz's inaugural season.

“She speaks of a great longing for peace and the will to achieve this peace. For me, the end of Weill's first symphony is the only positive minor chord I know. That's a big 'yes', but in a minor key.”

The concert concludes with a powerful work from the core symphonic repertoire: Gustav Mahler's first from 1889 with its natural sounds and the famous funeral march in the 3rd movement, which is based on the canon "Frère Jacques".


  • Sergei Prokofiev - Symphony No. 1 in D major op. 25 ("Symphonie classique")
  • Kurt Weill - Symphony No. 1 ("Berlin Symphony")
  • Intermission
  • Gustav Mahler - Symphony No. 1 in D major

Buy ticket

Additional information

Educational Services
Participating artists
Konzerthausorchester Berlin
Joana Mallwitz (Dirigentin)