Skip to main content

Among Sergei Prokofiev’s five piano concertos, the second, which was written in 1912/13, has fallen into relative obscurity. Traditional in form, but noticeably experimental in terms of harmony and sound, it prefigured the »modern« Prokofiev of the coming years.

GRAFIK MUSIKNOTEN visitBerlin, Illustration Klio Karadim

With his »Symphonic Dances«, Rachmaninoff’s brilliant three-movement orchestral work in late Romantic style from 1940, the composer was once again feted on the international music scene. He also considered this last composition his best, which is hardly surprising given its inventiveness and vibrant sound.
Additional information
We do apologize that the following information is currently only available in German.
Participating artists
Staatsoper Unter den Linden
Philharmonie Berlin