Skip to main content

György Ligeti’s »Lontano«, which was completed in 1967, is a sophisticated soundscape that starts from a single tone and gradually fills an enormous space. Highly differentiated perceptions and effects of sound also play a decisive role in Witold Lutosławski’s Violoncello Concerto, which he finished in 1970.

GRAFIK MUSIKNOTEN visitBerlin, Illustration Klio Karadim

Richard Strauss’s »Alpensinfonie«, with its vast score, brought his series of tone poems to a close. With these, he elevated Programme Music to a new level as well as the art of instrumentation, with minimal shades of sound and a tremendously expressive intensity.
Additional information
We do apologize that the following information is currently only available in German.
Participating artists
Staatsoper Unter den Linden
Philharmonie Berlin