Skip to main content

Musikfest Berlin

The orchestral work "Aïs," by Iannis Xenakis, performed by the Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin under Vladimir Jurowski, using texts from Homer's "Iliad" and the "Odyssey," always revolves around the moment that puts an end to all life. Even the love that resounds from Béla Bartók's First Violin Concerto remains fleeting. Gustav Mahler's Fifth Symphony is heard at the end.

Beleuchtete Philharmonie Berlin mit Potsdamer Platz am Abend
Beleuchtete Philharmonie Berlin mit Potsdamer Platz am Abend © visitBerlin, Foto Wolfgang Scholvien

Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin & Vladimir Jurowski (Conductor)

  • Georg Nigl Baritone
  • Dirk Rothbrust percussion
  • Vilde Frang violin
Iannis Xenakis
Aïs for baritone, percussion and orchestra

Georg Nigl baritone, Dirk Rothbrust percussion

Béla Bartók
Concerto for Violin and Orchestra No. 1 Sz 36

Vilde Frang violin

Gustav Mahler
Symphony No. 5

An event of the Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin in cooperation with Berliner Festspiele / Musikfest Berlin

Buy ticket

Additional information
Participating artists
Béla Bartók (Komponist/in)
Gustav Mahler (Komponist/in)
Iannis Xenakis (Komponist/in)
Vladimir Jurowski
Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin
Philharmonie Berlin