Skip to main content

mit Lucas & Arthur Jussen, Artists in Residence

An unusual line-up awaits you with an unusual chamber concert: the Artists in Residence, the piano duo Lucas & Arthur Jussen, will be visited by the percussionists Alexej Gerassimez and Emil Kuyumcuyan.

Lucas und Arthur Jussen
Lucas und Arthur Jussen © Marco Borggreve

Béla Bartók was the first composer to use percussion as a full chamber instrument in his Sonata of 1937/38, but added: "The xylophone player just has to practice his part nicely." The composer Minoru Miki, who died in 2011, composed a whole series of works in various instrumentations for the marimba, which is very common in Japan.

Gershwin's showpiece for pianists, the world-famous "Rhapsody in Blue" - here in the version for two pianos - is followed by "Frank's House" by Andrew Norman, who was inspired for this quartet by architect Frank Gehry's house in Santa Monica, California. For the finale, the four musicians remain in the U.S., but return to the East Coast to really turn up the heat with an arrangement of the "Symphonic Dances" from Bernstein's "West Side Story."

  • Béla Bartók - Sonata for Two Pianos and Percussion
  • Minoru Miki - "Marimba Spiritual II


  • George Gershwin - "Rhapsody in Blue" (version for 2 pianos)
  • Andrew Norman - "Frank's HouseLeonard Bernstein - Symphonic Dances from the musical "West Side Story" arranged for two pianos and percussion by Irwin Kostal

Buy ticket

Additional information

Educational Services
Participating artists
Lucas & Arthur Jussen (Klavier)
Alexej Gerassimez (Perkussion und Schlagzeug)
Emil Kuyumcuyan (Perkussion und Schlagzeug)
Konzerthaus Berlin - Großer Saal