Skip to main content


Pour water on thyself: thus shalt thou be a fountain to the universe. (Kenneth Anger)

Volksbühne © visitBerlin, Foto Max Threlfall

The twilight of the ‘Age of Aquarius’ has begun, we are experiencing a shift from technological innovations towards humanitarian concerns and collective responsibilities. The stage has turned into a watery realm – a swimming pool, a wetland, morass in which the heiresses of Ophelia try to prepare themselves for the inevitable.

The nymphs, nereids, sirens and melusines love music, are brilliant dancers, and look to a future that is uncertain and fragile. They like to lure people into the water, dragging them to the lower depths to make them look into the mirror of Venus. The true place of significance lies in the dark, has submerged and sunk to the ground. Decomposition brings the bodies up to the surface, and there they are, floating and moldering in the water to become one with nature, unless they’re found.

This oceanic landscape allusive of cultural and historical references to all manner of water creatures and drowned unknowns constitutes the stage for survival training under precarious circumstances, and for speculating on a different form of life.

Fluctuation, reflection, reproduction, healing but also violence – these are the themes around which Florentina Holzinger and her multi-disciplinary and multi-generational cast have conceived the new show at the Volksbühne – a very physical study in the psychology of water in the 21st century.

Buy ticket

Additional information
Participating artists
Florentina Holzinger (Konzept & Regie)
Florentina Holzinger (Autor/in)
Saioa Alvarez Ruiz (mit)
Inga Busch (mit)
Renée Copraij (mit)
Sophie Duncan (mit)
Fibi Eyewalker (mit)
Paige A. Flash (mit)
Florentina Holzinger (mit)
Annina Machaz (mit)
Melody Alia (mit)
Xana Novais (mit)
Netti Nüganen (mit)
Urška Preis (mit)
Zora Schemm (mit)
Paige A. Flash (Musik)
Urška Preis (Musik)
Stefan Schneider (Musik)
Nikola Knežević (Bühne)
Anne Meeussen (Licht Design)
Melody Alia (Videodesign)
Jens Crull (Videodesign)
Max Heesen (Videodesign)
Renée Copraij (Dramaturgie)
Sara Ostertag (Dramaturgie)
Fernando Belfiore (Dramaturgie)
Michele Rizzo (Dramaturgie)
Volksbühne - Großes Haus
Volksbühne - Großes Haus
Volksbühne - Großes Haus