Skip to main content
The event you were looking for has already taken place. Find many more events, tips and recommendations in Berlin's biggest event calendar on

Jakub Hrůša conducts Dvořák’s Stabat mater

For the Czech conductor Jakub Hrůša, Antonín Dvořák’s Stabat mater is a “wonderful gift” that touches and moves people. Indeed, the composition occupies a prominent position among the numerous settings of the medieval text describing Mary’s suffering as the mother of Jesus during his crucifixion.

Here, Dvořák processes his grief over the death of three of his children – and created a sacred choral work in which dramatic outbursts alternate with moments of great intimacy.
It finishes with an ecstatic vision of resurrection.

Antonín Dvořák
Stabat mater op. 58

  • Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra
  • Jakub Hrůša - Conductor
  • Corinne Winters - soprano
  • Marvic Monreal - mezzo-soprano
  • David Butt Philip - Tenor
  • Matthew Rose - Bass
  • Rundfunkchor Berlin

Additional information
Participating artists
Berliner Philharmoniker
Jakub Hrůša
Corinne Winters
Marvic Monreal
David Butt Philip
Matthew Rose
Rundfunkchor Berlin