Skip to main content

Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin under the baton of conductor Vladimir Jurowski plays "The Night Before Christmas", an opera in four acts, for the audience.

Beleuchtete Philharmonie Berlin mit Potsdamer Platz am Abend
Beleuchtete Philharmonie Berlin mit Potsdamer Platz am Abend © visitBerlin, Foto Wolfgang Scholvien

As romantic as the title sounds, things get wild in this opera by Rimsky-Korsakov. The action does not take place on Christmas night, but the night before. A devil who no longer feels he is being taken seriously, a witch who has a righteous blacksmith for a son, a tsarina who gives away her golden shoes. Rimsky-Korsakov takes Russian, melodically simple "kolyadki" chants, sparks choral passages or has them sung against each other as fast-paced dialogue.


  • Mikhail Vekua Tenor
  • Dmitry Ulyanov bass
  • Sofia Fomina soprano
  • Ksenia Dudnikova mezzo-soprano
  • Marina Prudenskaya mezzo-soprano
  • Sergei Leiferkus Baritone
  • Vasily Efimov Tenor
  • Milan Siljanov bass-baritone
  • Artyom Vasnetzov bass-baritone
  • Vsevolod Grivnov tenor
  • Nadine Weissmann alto
  • N. N. Soprano
  • George Enescu Philharmonic Choir Chorus
  • Ion Iosif Prunner Choir rehearsal
  • Anisha Bondy Scenic design
  • Diego Leetz Lighting direction
  • N. N. Video
Additional information
Participating artists
Nikolaj Rimsky-Korsakow (Komponist/in)
Diego Leetz
Anisha Bondy
Ion Iosif Prunner
George Enescu Philharmonic Choir
Nadine Weissmann
Vsevolod Grivnov
Artyom Wasnetzov
Milan Siljanov
Vasily Efimov
Sergej Leiferkus
Marina Prudenskaja
Ksenia Dudnikova
Sofia Fomina
Dmitry Ulyanov
Mikhail Vekua
Vladimir Jurowski
Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin
Philharmonie Berlin