Skip to main content

On Sunday, 28 August, the Neuruppin Music Association invites you to the Classical Open Air with the Brandenburg State Orchestra at 5 pm. Takao Ukigaya conducts the orchestra on the large lawn of Niemöllerplatz between the monastery church and Lake Ruppin.

Veranstaltungen in Berlin: Klassik-Open-Air am Ruppiner See
© Eckhard Handke

The programme includes magnificent overtures by Giacchino Rossini and Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, summer music from symphonies by Ludwig van Beethoven, Antonin Dvořák and Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy, Edvard Grieg's "Morning Mood" from the Peer Gynt Suite No. 1, his Notturno from "A Midsummer Night's Dream" and by Saverio Mercadante the Flute Concerto No. 2 in E minor with soloist Junko Ukigaya.

Edvard Grieg's "Morning Mood" describes a sunrise on the African coast from the poem "Peer Gynt" by Hendrik Ibsen. When the poem was arranged as a drama for the stage in 1874, Edvard Grieg composed two suites for it. From his second suite, the State Orchestra plays "Ingrid's Lament".

The overture from Rossini's one-act opera "Il Signor Bruschino" caused a scandal at its premiere. Rossini had instructed the second violins to tap their bows against the tin lids of the candlesticks of their music stands. He used the rhythmic sound effect several times in his overture.

Before the interval, the most famous flute concerto by Saverio Mercadante is heard. Along with Bellini and Donizetti, he is one of the most important Italian opera composers in the period between Rossini and Verdi, but he also composed many instrumental works. The soloist is the Japanese flutist Junko Ukigaya.

The whirling overture from "The Marriage of Figaro" by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart continues turbulently and at a chasing tempo. Then Ludwig van Beethoven's "Scene at the Brook" from his 6th Symphony takes us into a sunny, dreamy valley with murmuring brooks and idyllic birdsong. Antonin Dvořák's Scherzo from the 9th Symphony "From the New World" is a lively mix of Czech gypsy music and Indian dances of joy.

From Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy, the Brandenburg State Orchestra plays the blissfully dreamy "Notturno" from "A Midsummer Night's Dream" and the "Saltarello" - a lively Italian dance that he incorporated into his Symphony No. 4 in A major. In magnificent crescendo climaxes, all nuances from delicate grace to wild outbursts are experienced.

Buy ticket

Additional information
Klosterkirche Neuruppin