Skip to main content


In May 2022, Carolin Widmann performed the world premiere of Violin for Carolin, written for her by Danish composer Hans Abrahamsen. She now brings the piece to the Pierre Boulez Saal as part of an extraordinary solo recital spanning almost a millennium of music history, beginning with medieval composer and polymath Hildegard von Bingen. In a fascinating juxtaposition of styles and eras, the program also includes a sonata by late-Baroque violin virtuoso Francesco Geminiani, George Enescu’s rarely heard Fantaisie concertante, and Salvatore Sciarrino’s Sei Capricci, composed in 1976.

Veranstaltungen in Berlin: CAROLIN WIDMANN
© Lennard Rühle

  • Hildegard von Bingen - Antiphon “Spiritus sanctus vivificans vita”
  • George Enescu - Fantaisie Concertante for Solo Violin
  • Hans Abrahamsen - Violin for Carolin
  • Francesco Geminiani - Sonata G minor for Solo Violin
  • Salvatore Sciarrino - Sei Capricci for Solo Violin

Buy ticket

Additional information
Participating artists
Carolin Widmann
Pierre Boulez Saal