Skip to main content

Piano solo: Works by Eötvös, Ravel, Adams and Schubert

“A minimalist bored with minimalism”—this is how a journalist once described John Adams. According to the composer, the portrait is not too far off the mark when it comes to his early piano work Phrygian Gates, written in 1977, in which the ideas and techniques of minimal music go hand in hand with their creative expansion and transformation.

Pianist William Youn pairs Adams’s meditation on modal harmony with Schubert’s late A-major Sonata.

  • John Adams - Phrygian Gates for Piano
  • *** - ***
  • Franz Schubert - Piano Sonata in A major D 959

Buy ticket

Additional information
Participating artists
William Youn