Skip to main content

Concerto violoncello solo

Today, the ricercata, which is vocal in origin, whether composed for one or more voices, is described as a prefiguration of the modern fugue. The pieces by Diego Ortiz, court conductor in Naples, which was then part of Spain, from his textbook Tratenimento des glosas (Treatise on Ornamentation) are among the earliest examples of this form of composition.

Ludwig Frankmar
Ludwig Frankmar © Ev.-ref. Schlosskirchengemeinde

Ricercate movements continued to be composed into the 18th century. In the Baroque period, there was a transition from pieces in suspended rhythms to pieces in concretely written-out movements and modern time signatures, and dance elements were added. Aurelio Virgiliano, Giovanni Battista degli Antonii and Georg Philipp Telemann dedicated themselves to this genre, especially for viola da gamba and violoncello.

Ludwig Frankmar, baroque cello presents works by Diego Ortiz, Aurelio Virgiliano, Giovanni Battista Degli Antonii and Georg Philipp Telemann.

Admission: Voluntary contribution from 6,- to 10,- Euro
Additional information
Schlosskirche Köpenick