In the old town of Spandau, the fascinating building of the historic church of St. Nicholas is open for visitors.
The tower of St. Nikolai's Church, along with the tower of the town hall, characterizes the silhouette of Spandau's old town. A church has stood on this site since about 1200. In the 14th century, the present Gothic hall church was built. St. Nikolai is a typical Markian city parish church.
In 1744, after a fire, the church tower received a Baroque addition, which was renewed in 1989. The interior of the church is artistically richly decorated.
The oldest preserved sacral artwork is the bronze baptismal font from 1398. Also from the late Gothic period is the triumphal cross. In 1539, St. Nikolai Spandau became the Reformation church of the Electorate of Brandenburg. The monument (1889) in front of the church commemorates this.
The Renaissance altar from 1582 offers a Protestant picture program. Under the altar is the tomb of Rochus Guerrini Count of Lynar, among others the builder of the Spandau Citadel.
The wooden pulpit (around 1700) is a masterpiece of the Prussian Baroque. The St. Nikolai church has an organ from the Bautzen organ-building company Eule, which was completed in 1996.
Almost every day St. Nikolai invites to prayer and sightseeing.
We do apologize that the following information is currently only available in German.