Skip to main content

Concert series by Ensemble KNM Berlin

On 11 February, Ensemble KNM Berlin takes the stage at Radialsystem with the fourth and last edition of their concert series "LA STRADA", inspired by the classic Fellini film of the ‘50s. With "Quaderno di strada" (2003) (“notebook of the street”), by contemporary composer Salvatore Sciarrino, the ensemble dives into segmented travel memories: commonplace, at times whimsical, at others absurd.

Radialsystem Berlin, Außenaufnahme mit Spree
Radialsystem Berlin, Außenaufnahme mit Spree © Phil Dera

This 45-minute cycle of miniatures for baritone solo and small soloist ensemble is one of the essential compositions of the 20th century. Luigi Nono's 1989 composition "'Hay que caminar' Soñando" (“’You must go’, dreaming”) provides artistic commentary – a dream journey through a quiet, fragmentary soundscape with gaps and frayed edges to the point of silencing.

Buy ticket

Additional information
"LA STRADA" is a concert series by Ensemble KNM Berlin, funded by the Hauptstadtkulturfonds Berlin. "LA STRADA - POP UP" is funded by the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media as part of the special programme NEUSTART KULTUR.

The Ensemble KNM Berlin is supported by the Berlin Senate Department for Culture and Europe.


Media partners: rbb Kultur, taz. die tageszeitung, tip Berlin, ExBerliner and Rausgegangen.

Salvatore Sciarrino„Quaderno di strada“ (2003)

Luigi Nono„Hay que caminar“ Soñando (1989)
Participating artists
Cordula Bürgi (Dirigat)
Otto Katzameier (Bariton)
Ensemble KNM Berlin
Rebecca Lenton (Flöte)
Antje Thierbach (Oboe / Englischhorn)
Theo Nabicht (Klarinette / Bassklarinette)
Hanno Koloska (Fagott)
Mathilde Conley (Trompete)
Johannes Lauer (Posaune)
Alexandre Babel, Michael Weilacher (Schlagzeug)
Justine Eckhaut (Klavier / Celesta)
Theodor Flindell, Wolfgang Bender (Violine)
Kirstin Maria Pientka (Viola)
Cosima Gerhardt (Violoncello)
Jonathan Heilbron (Kontrabass)
Radialsystem V