Skip to main content

mit Renaud Capuçon

Sometimes a work can be a little too successful: Max Bruch was at some point simply tired of his first violin concerto (1866/68), as he wrote on various occasions. After all, he had composed more, including two more concertos for violin! With all due sympathy for the composer who felt misunderstood: fortunately he wrote this concerto, because it has everything we love in great romantic violin concertos - wonderful melodies with catchy tunes, virtuoso passages for the solo violin, a skillfully engaged orchestra and, last but not least, a pinch of weltschmerz.

Renaud Capucon
Renaud Capucon © Simon Fowler

All of this comes into its own especially when played by an outstanding violinist like Renaud Capuçon. Pablo Heras-Casado and the Konzerthausorchester Berlin stay in the 19th century for the rest of the program, too, with Felix Mendelssohn's 1833 Overture to the tragic mermaid fairy tale of the beautiful Melusine and Robert Schumann's famous "Rhenish," first performed in February 1851.

  • Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy - "The Fairy Tale of the Beautiful Melusine" - Concert Overture in F major op. 32
  • Max Bruch - Concerto for Violin and Orchestra No. 1 in G minor op. 26
  • Intermission
  • Robert Schumann - Symphony No. 3 in E-flat major op. 97 ("Rhenish")
Additional information

Educational Services
Participating artists
Konzerthausorchester Berlin
Pablo Heras-Casado (Dirigent)
Renaud Capuçon (Violine)
Konzerthaus Berlin - Großer Saal
Konzerthaus Berlin - Großer Saal