Skip to main content

Dmitri Schostakowitsch: Sinfonie Nr. 7 C-Dur op. 60 („Leningrader“)

Our tribute to the great composer ends with a performance of Dmitri Shostakovich's legendary Seventh Symphony. He wrote the first three movements in Leningrad, which was surrounded by the Wehrmacht, before being flown out of his hometown against his will to Samara on the Volga in early October 1941.

Veranstaltungen in Berlin: Konzerthausorchester Berlin, Krzysztof Urbański
© Marco Borggreve

There the completed work was premiered in March 1942 as a "fanal against fascism," the Leningrad premiere followed in August with a few surviving members of the radio orchestra there and other musicians. The blockade of Leningrad lasted 28 months; by January 1944, more than a million people had died, most of them of hunger.

Dmitri Shostakovich - Symphony No. 7 in C major op. 60 ("Leningrad")
Additional information

Educational Services
Participating artists
Konzerthausorchester Berlin
Krzysztof Urbański (Dirigent)
Konzerthaus Berlin - Großer Saal