Skip to main content

mit Elisabeth Leonskaja

The "grande dame" of the piano Elisabeth Leonskaja has already been welcomed to the Haus am Gendarmenmarkt a few times. In the context of this Shostakovich homage, she is now a guest with a Russian program. She begins it with Sergei Prokofiev's five "Sarcasms" from 1912/14, which draw grotesque, torn characters using avant-garde means of the time. At the center of the recital is Dmitri Shostakovich's demanding austere Second Piano Sonata. He wrote it in 1943 as a dedication to his teacher and close friend Leonid Nikolayev, who had died of typhoid fever after being evacuated from besieged Leningrad in the Crimea. Leading back to a supposedly brighter, at least musically more harmonious, era at the end is Tchaikovsky's Piano Sonata, Op. 37, from 1878.

Konzerthaus Berlin - Großer Saal
Konzerthaus Berlin - Großer Saal © Promo

  • Sergei Prokofiev - "Sarcasms," op. 17.
  • Dmitri Shostakovich - Piano Sonata No. 2 in B minor op. 61
  • Intermission
  • Pyotr Tchaikovsky - Piano Sonata in G major op. 37

Buy ticket

Additional information

Educational Services
Participating artists
Elisabeth Leonskaja (Klavier)
Konzerthaus Berlin - Großer Saal