Skip to main content

Kirill Petrenko conducts Korngold, Mozart and Norman

The hero of Kurt Vonnegut’s novel Slaughterhouse Five is “unstuck in time”, a phrase that inspired the American composer Andrew Norman to write his stormy, virtuosic orchestral work Unstuck.

Kirill Petrenko dirigiert ein Konzert
Kirill Petrenko dirigiert ein Konzert © Monika Rittershaus

The monumental Symphony in F sharp minor, which Erich Wolfgang Korngold composed during his exile in the US, also has American tones, although his European roots are always perceptible. Between these two works, in this concert with chief conductor Kirill Petrenko we will hear our first concertmaster Noah Bendix-­Balgley in Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart’s Violin Concerto No. 1, a work full of brilliance and simple intimacy.

Andrew Norman

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Concerto for Violin and Orchestra No. 1 B flat major KV 207
Noah Bendix-Balgley, Violin

Erich Wolfgang Korngold
Symphony in F sharp major op. 40

Buy ticket

Additional information
Participating artists
Erich Wolfgang Korngold (Komponist/in)
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (Komponist/in)
Andrew Norman (Komponist/in)
Kirill Petrenko
Berliner Philharmoniker
Philharmonie Berlin
Philharmonie Berlin
Philharmonie Berlin