Skip to main content

Concerto Melante on historical instruments

The Original Sound series is aimed at fans of baroque and early music. In Concerto Melante, mainly members of the Berliner Philharmoniker perform on period instruments. Supported by renowned vocal soloists, they want to make the genre of the lamento, which experienced a heyday in the Baroque era, audible again. Emotional laments by Telemann and composers of the Bach family can be heard.

Concerto Melante
Concerto Melante Alessandro Cappone


  • Raimar Orlovsky violin and conductor
  • Anna-Lena Elbert soprano
  • David Erler alto
  • Johannes Gaubitz tenor
  • Wolf-Matthias Friedrich bass
  • Dominik Wollenweber oboe
Works performed:

Johann Sebastian Bach
"From the depths I call to you, Lord", Cantata BWV 131

Georg Philipp Telemann
Quartet for recorder and viols in G major TWV 43:G10 (excerpts)

Johann Christoph Bach
"Ach, dass ich Wassers gnug hätte", Lamento

Johann Christoph Bach
"How art Thou then, O God", Lamento

Georg Philipp Telemann
"But thou Daniel, go thy way," Funeral Cantata TWV 4:17

"Now all is overcome," Aria from the Altbach Archive (attributed to Adam Drese)
Additional information
Participating artists
Johannes Gaubitz
David Erler
Anna-Lena Elbert
Raimar Orlovsky
Concerto Melante
Wolf Matthias Friedrich
Philharmonie Berlin – Kammermusiksaal