Skip to main content
The event you were looking for has already taken place. Find many more events, tips and recommendations in Berlin's biggest event calendar on

Solo Debut: Piano Works by Schubert, Tveitt, Brahms

Making his solo debut at the Pierre Boulez Saal, Leif Ove Andsnes presents works by Franz Schubert and Johannes Brahms in an exciting juxtaposition with music by Geirr Tveitt (1908–1981), a composer hardly known outside Norway whose oeuvre was greatly inspired by the traditional music of his homeland. Written in the late 1940s, his Sonata etere combines powerful rhythmic patterns with bimodal harmony and is among the few works to survive a fire at the composer’s home in 1970 that destroyed most of his manuscripts.

  • Franz Schubert - Piano Sonata in A minor D 784
  • Geirr Tveitt - Piano Sonata No. 29 ''Sonata Etere'' Op. 129
  • *** - ***
  • Franz Schubert - Impromptu in F minor D 935 No. 1
  • Johannes Brahms - Seven Fantasies for Piano Op. 116

Buy ticket

Additional information
Participating artists
Leif Ove Andsnes