Skip to main content

For Iván Fischer, "an almost divine love that transcends the personal" fills the "endless flow" of slow movements in Gustav Mahler's symphonies. The honorary conductor of the Konzerthausorchester feels a special affinity for the eclectic musical language of the Viennese composer. This time he devotes himself to the world-spanning Third Symphony of 1896, in which there is room for an entire world, from donkey to angel, for Gustav Mahler sets a veritable cosmology to music: from inanimate matter to flowers, animals, man and the sphere of angels to the all-encompassing divine love.

Iván Fischer
Iván Fischer Marco Borggreve

Originally, the six movements even had corresponding titles: "Pan awakes. The summer marches in", "What the flowers in the meadows tell me", "What the animals in the forest tell me", "What man tells me", "What the angels tell me" and finally "What love tells me".The composer summarized: "Thus my work forms a musical poem encompassing all stages of development in stepwise increase. - It begins with lifeless nature and rises to the love of God!"

It goes without saying that this impressive work calls for a huge instrumentation, as does the flare-up of different genres in Mahler's work.

Gustav Mahler - Symphony No. 3 in D minor

without intermission

Additional information

Educational Services
Participating artists
Konzerthausorchester Berlin
Rundfunkchor Berlin (Damen)
Staats- und Domchor Berlin
Iván Fischer (Dirigent)
Gerhild Romberger (Alt)
Konzerthaus Berlin - Großer Saal
Konzerthaus Berlin - Großer Saal