Skip to main content


For a long time, Johannes Brahms shied away from tackling the genres of symphony and string quartet. His three piano sonatas, on the other hand, posed fewer challenges: in the early 1850s, the young composer offered them to the world as a musical statement that still impressed the radical composers of the Second Viennese School half a century later.

Veranstaltungen in Berlin: ELISABETH LEONSKAJA
© Marco Borggreve

In her solo recital, Elisabeth Leonskaja juxtaposes the two first sonatas, which open Brahms’s official catalogue of works, with Alban Berg’s Opus 1 and Anton Webern’s Piano Variations.

  • Alban Berg - Piano Sonata Op. 1
  • Johannes Brahms - Piano Sonata No. 1 in C major Op. 1

*** - ***

  • Anton Webern - Variations for Piano Op. 27
  • Johannes Brahms - Piano Sonata No. 2 in F-sharp minor Op. 2

Buy ticket

Additional information
Participating artists
Elisabeth Leonskaja
Pierre Boulez Saal