Skip to main content

Andris Nelsons conducts Bruckner’s Seventh Symphony

Composed in American exile, Arnold Schoenberg’s Piano Concerto is a seminal work of Modernism, but pianist Mitsuko Uchida also finds “lightness, serenity and sadness” in it. For her, the Concerto is not least an homage to the Viennese musical culture that Schoenberg came from.

Veranstaltungen in Berlin: Andris Nelsons dirigiert Bruckners Siebte Symphonie
Decca / Justin Pumfrey

An especially impressive work from this Viennese tradition is Anton Bruckner’s solemn Seventh Symphony, which brought the composer an overwhelming triumph after many failures.

Andris Nelsons, a Bruckner specialist from the younger generation of conductors, takes the podium of the Berliner Philharmoniker.

Mitsuko Uchida, piano

  • Arnold Schoenberg Concerto for Piano and Orchestra op. 42 
  • Anton Bruckner Symphony No. 7 in E major
Additional information
Participating artists
Anton Bruckner (Komponist/in)
Arnold Schönberg (Komponist/in)
Andris Nelsons
Berliner Philharmoniker
Mitsuko Uchida - Klavier
Philharmonie Berlin
Philharmonie Berlin
Philharmonie Berlin