Huguenot Museum in the Französischer Dom

Huguenot Museum in the Französischer Dom

Sanctuary for the Huguenots and a place of remembrance

Gendarmenmarkt – © Scholvien

The Französischer Dom is a copper-roofed tower erected between 1780 and 1785 next to the Französische Friedrichstadtkirche, a church built from 1701–1705 to serve Calvinist refugees from France, commonly called the Huguenots. The ground floor is home to the Hugenottenmuseum (Huguenot Museum). It provides an overview of the history of the Huguenots and describes the emergence of the French congregation in Berlin with its numerous institutions.

The impressive structure on the Gendarmenmarkt can be entered from both sides. From the east side (Markgrafenstraße) you can access the Huguenot Museum. The entrance to the Theodor Fontane Exhibition, which showcases the late 19th century German writer and Huguenot descendant, is found in the church's cemetery off Liesenstraße. Fontane's grave is also located in this cemetery.

Infobox

Gendarmenmarkt 5
10117 Berlin Mitte
Tel.: 030 – 229 176 0
Javascript is required to view this map.
To: Gendarmenmarkt 5
10117 Berlin

Admission 2.00 Euro, reduced 1.00 Euro
Guided tours may be arranged in advance.

Tue - Sun12am - 5pm
Javascript is required to view this map.
Sightseeing

Sanctuary for the Huguenots and a place of remembrance

view
(0.05 km)

An ensemble full of harmony

view
(0.09 km)

The history of parliamentary democracy in a baroque church

view
(0.17 km)

Sweetshop for families with an educational trail.

view
Museums + Art
(0.08 km)

The Mendelssohns in Jägerstraße

view
(0.11 km)

Gallery with tradition in conceptual international art

view
Shopping
(0.17 km)

All about the tasty chocolate squares

view
(0.23 km)

French lifestyle in Berlin

view
(0.23 km)

Meeting point for the international fashion elite

view
(0.23 km)

Delicacies

view