Skip to main content

Short early peaces

The modern art ensemble presents seven short early pieces by composers of different generations united by the momentum of departure. Tomoya Yokokawa's "Flowers without Scent", for example, consists of the miniatures "Snow Rain", "White Snow", "Peony Snow", "Powder Snow", "Sleet" and "Snow in Spring". He explores paradoxical "timbres without color" analogous to "flowers without fragrance."

modern art ensemble
modern art ensemble © Henrik Jordan

In "Alleanza d'archi" by Charlotte Seither, three strings become one large string instrument. Elena Mendoza's three fragments "Nebelsplitter" are a lively study in timbre and sound gesture. Jürgen Kupfer's piano trio, a world premiere, takes us back to the aesthetics of the early 1970s.

In Mert Morali's "A captured winter," powerful gestures are repeatedly interrupted, only to begin anew, to revolt anew. Finally, the bass flute rises for the last time to melodic movement, only to be smothered in pauses and at the in breathing noises.

  • Makiko Nishikaze - "scene for six" for flute, clarinet, violin, viola, cello and piano
  • Charlotte Seither - "Alleanza d'archi" for violin, viola and violoncello
  • Tomoya Yokokawa - "Flowers without fragrance" for flute, viola and piano
  • Elena Mendoza - "Nebelsplitter" for violin, viola, violoncello and piano
  • Intermission
  • Jürgen Kupfer - piano trio (premiere)
  • Rebecca Saunders - "The undersite of green" for clarinet, violin and piano
  • Mert Morali - "A captured winter" for flute, clarinet, violin, viola, violoncello and piano

Sponsored by Musikfonds e.V., with the support of "Neustart Kultur".
Additional information

Educational Services
Participating artists
modern art ensemble
Konzerthaus Berlin - Werner-Otto-Saal