Skip to main content

Concerts and motets by Heinrich Schütz and Johann Schelle

Concerts and motets by Heinrich Schütz and Johann Schelle in the Sophienkirche. This year marks the 350th anniversary of Heinrich Schütz's death. The Ensemble Art d'Echo under the direction of Juliane Laake (viola da gamba) dedicates a concert program to the grand master of the early seconda prattica. The program includes works by Schütz's student Johann Schelle, which have been preserved exclusively in manuscript in the Berlin State Library.

Ensemble Art d'Echo
Ensemble Art d'Echo © Wenzel Oschington / Ensemble Art d'Echo | St. Elisabeth-Kirche + Villa Elisabeth (Kultur Büro Elisabeth)

  • Magdalene Harer (soprano)
  • Joowon Chung (soprano)
  • Alexander Schneider (alto & primus inter pares)
  • Johannes Gaubitz (tenor)
  • Tobias Ay (bass)
  • Cosimo Stawiarski (violin)
  • Catherine Aglibut (violin)
  • Irene Klein (viola da gamba)
  • Frauke Hess (viola da gamba)
  • Magnus Andersson (lute)
  • Klaus Eichhorn (chest organ)
  • Juliane Laake (viola da gamba, concept & direction)
  • Works performed:
  • Johann Schelle (1648-1701), That is dear to me
  • Heinrich Schütz (1585-1672), Lord, in thee do I trust (SWV 377)
  • Johann Rosenmüller (1619-1684), Sonata X à 5
  • Heinrich Schütz, Those who sow with tears (SWV 378)
  • Johann Schelle, The abyss opens up
  • Heinrich Schütz, Hear me when I call (SWV 289)
  • Sebastian Knüpfer (1633-1676), Suite in d
  • Heinrich Schütz, Thus I go (SWV 379)
  • Johann Schelle, Those who hope in the Lord
Admission: 20 €/ reduced 15 € (plus ticketing fee)
Additional information