Skip to main content


John Adams was studying the score of Schoenberg’s Kammersymphonie while his seven-year-old son was watching old cartoons in the next room when he had the idea for his own Chamber Symphony: “The hyperactive, insistently aggressive and acrobatic scores for the cartoons mixed in my head with the Schoenberg music, itself hyperactive, acrobatic and not a little aggressive, and I realized suddenly how much these two traditions had in common.”

Veranstaltungen in Berlin: BOULEZ ENSEMBLE XLIX
© Peter Adamik

Conducted by Thomas Guggeis, the Boulez Ensemble performs the two works side by side. Brahms’s sumptuously Romantic Piano Quintet opens the program.

  • Johannes Brahms - Piano Quintet in F minor Op. 34

*** - ***

  • Arnold Schoenberg - Chamber Symphony for 15 Solo Instruments Op. 9
  • John Adams - Chamber Symphony
Additional information
Participating artists
Thomas Guggeis
Boulez Ensemble
Pierre Boulez Saal