Skip to main content

Violinist Julia Fischer comes to the Gendarmenmarkt with the renowned English chamber orchestra Academy of St Martin in the Fields.

Veranstaltungen in Berlin: Academy of St Martin in the Fields, Julia Fischer
© Promo

As soloist, she will play Mozart's Fifth Violin Concerto in D major. The 19-year-old wrote his last four in quick succession, all in 1775 - probably to perform himself.

Also on the program: Haydn's famous so-called Farewell Symphony with fewer and fewer voices, which accompanies the legend that it was a hint to Prince Esterházy to end the summer season in 1772 so that the musicians could finally return home to their families.

Josef Suk's cheerful "Serenade for String Orchestra" was written during his studies with Antonín Dvořák and concludes the evening.

  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart - Concerto for violin and orchestra in D major KV 218
  • Joseph Haydn - Symphony No. 45 in F-sharp minor Hob I:45 ("Farewell Symphony")


  • Pyotr Tchaikovsky - "Souvenir d'un lieu cher" op. 42, arranged for violin and strings by Alexandru Lascae
  • Josef Suk - Serenade for string orchestra in E flat major op. 6
Additional information

Educational Services
Participating artists
Academy of St Martin in the Fields
Julia Fischer (Violine)
Konzerthaus Berlin - Großer Saal