Skip to main content
picture of John F. Kennedy and his wife Jackie in Museum The Kennedys in Berlin
picture of the Kennedys in Museum The Kennedys Berlin (c) visumate

Museum The Kennedys

A piece of America in the Scheunenviertel area

The museum The Kennedys tells visitors about the life and history of America's famous family including the circumstances of JFK's "Ich bin ein Berliner" speech.

Meanwhile closed!

John F. Kennedy has been a legend in the German capital since he spoke the words "Ich bin ein Berliner" in a speech in 1963. The Kennedys takes a very personal look at America's 35th President. The main display is of photographs, but you will also find documents and personal items such as his suit and briefcase. This exhibition also covers other members of the family: his wife and First Lady Jackie and his brother, Robert, who was also assassinated. Museum The Kennedys explores political success and the President's private life, following the American Dream through to the presidential election and his assassination.

Discover the Kennedys in the former Jewish Girls' School building

The organisation behind The Kennedys is CAMERA WORK, a group which in 2004 puts on their first exhibition about the Kennedys to positive acclaim. CAMERA WORK goes on to open a permanent display about the family in Pariser Platz, and in 2012 the museum moves into part of the former Jewish Girls' School. Explore the long, white and light-flooded corridors of the school, and experience the displays in the former classrooms where the walls are decorated with photographs. The main theme is John F. Kennedy's visit to Germany, but the museum also covers the myth of the American Dream and his presidential election campaign. Alongside the photographs sit some political and more mundane objects: historic books and original documents are displayed in glass cabinets. Some more personal objects include JFK's trademark handmade designer suits and bags. Film footage is projected onto the wall on an endless loop. The museum's collection also covers other members of the Kennedy family; JFK's wife Jackie, his younger brother, Robert, and the rest of the First Family. Find out about their life in the spotlight.

Museum highlights

  • John F. Kennedy's black Hermès briefcase
  • JFK's documents, including his Harvard thesis titled "Why England Slept"
  • 1960s film footage which is projected onto the walls
  • Private and professional photographs of the Kennedy family
  • Campaigning posters from the Presidential election

Berlin's Mitte art gallery

Alongside the museum The Kennedys, CAMERA WORK runs another gallery in the school building. The CWC Gallery has a regularly changing programme of exhibitions of contemporary art featuring sculpture, photography and paintings in a minimalist and elegant space. Temporary exhibitions showcase the best of contemporary art, for example, the close-up star portraits by Martin Schoeller or Marc Sijan's sculptures. The Collectors Room also looks at the very cutting edge of the contemporary art world. It has a glass facade and contains several exhibition rooms, a café and shop. Take a look at quality work from various different artistic collections. In the "Chamber of Wonders" look at a collection of art, scientific instruments and bizarre or exciting items from the Renaissance and Baroque periods such as a coconut cup belonging to Alexander von Humboldt and a taxidermy Nile crocodile.

Our tips for your visit to museum The Kennedys

Take the S-Bahn line S1, S2 or S25 or Oranienburger Strasse, and from there it's just seconds to the Kennedys exhibition. Alternatively, take the U6 underground line to Oranienburger Tor. If you have a Berlin WelcomeCard, you will get 30% off the admission price. For groups, guided tours can be arranged and a reduced price applies for groups over 10 people. Workshops are also run for school groups, details of which can be found on the museum website.

Opening hours

Tuesday 10:00 – 18:00
Wednesday 10:00 – 18:00
Thursday 10:00 – 18:00
Friday 10:00 – 18:00
Saturday 11:00 – 18:00
Sunday 11:00 – 18:00

Direkt zum Inhalt
Museum THE KENNEDYS
Portrait der Kennedys im The Kennedys Museum Berlin (c) visumate

Museum The Kennedys

Ein Hauch Amerika

Das Museum The Kennedys zeigt Ihnen Details zur Geschichte der berühmten Familie. Unvergesslich bleibt John F. Kennedys Ausspruch „Ich bin ein Berliner“.

Inzwischen geschlossen!

Seit seinen Worten „Ich bin ein Berliner“ vor dem Schöneberger Rathaus ist John F. Kennedy eine Legende in der deutschen Hauptstadt. Das Museum The Kennedys wirft einen sehr persönlichen Blick auf den 35. US-Präsidenten. Der Fokus liegt auf Fotos, aber auch Dokumente und private Gegenstände wie Anzug und Aktenkoffer können Sie sich anschauen. Die Ausstellung widmet sich auch den anderen Familienmitgliedern: seiner Frau Jackie, First Lady und Stilikone, oder seinem Bruder Robert, der ebenfalls einem Attenat zum Opfer fällt. The Kennedys erzählt Ihnen von politischen Erfolgen und privaten Details, vom American Dream zwischen Präsidentschaftswahl und Attentat.

Wie die Kennedys in die Jüdische Mädchenschule einziehen

Hinter The Kennedys stehen die Macher von CAMERA WORK. 2004 zeigen sie erstmals eine Ausstellung zu den Kennedys. Das Feedback ist positiv. Aus temporär wird dauerhaft und CAMERA WORK eröffnet das Museum The Kennedys am Pariser Platz. Seit 2012 finden Sie das Museum in den Räumen der früheren Jüdischen Mädchenschule im Scheunenviertel. Ihr Besuch führt Sie durch lange, weiß-puristische, lichtdurchflutete Gänge und in abgedunkelte ehemalige Lehrräume. Fotogalerien zieren die Wände. John F. Kennedys Deutschlandbesuch ist das große Thema, aber auch die Präsidentschaftswahl und der Mythos des American Dream. Außer Fotos gibt es politische und private Alltagsgegenstände: historische Bücher und Originaldokumente finden Sie in den Vitrinen. In den einstigen Klassenzimmern sind JFKs Designer-Aktentasche und seine maßgefertigten Anzüge ausgestellt. An die Wände projiziert, laufen in Endlosschleife Aufnahmen ab. Die Sammlung des Museums nimmt auch andere Familienmitglieder in den Fokus. Jacky Kennedy, sein jüngerer Bruder Robert sowie die ganze First Family – anhand von Fotografien vor allem, die über ein Leben im Scheinwerferlicht erzählen.

Die Highlights der Ausstellung

  • schwarze Hermès -Aktentasche von John F. Kennedy
  • Publikationen von JFK, wie seine erweiterte Harvard-Abschlussarbeit „Why England Slept“
  • Filmaufnahmen aus den 60er Jahren, an Wände projiziert
  • professionelle und private Fotografien der Kennedy-Familie
  • Wahlplakate zur Präsidentschaftswahl

 

Berlins Kunstkammer in Mitte

CAMERA WORK unterhält eine weitere Galerie in der ehemaligen Jüdischen Mädchenschule. Die CWC Gallery zeigt wechselnde Ausstellungen zeitgenössischer Kunst mit Skulpturen, Fotokunst und Malerei im elegant-puristischen Ambiente. Die wechselnden Ausstellungen zeigen zeitgenössische Kunstwerke. Die eindrücklichen Star-Porträts von Martin Schoeller zum Beispiel oder Skulpturen von Marc Sijan. Der me Collectors Room Berlin konzentriert sich ebenfalls auf Kunst am Puls der Zeit. Der me Collectors Room verfügt hinter einer spiegelglatten Glasfassade über mehrere Ausstellungsräume, ein Künstlercafé und einen Shop. Dort sehen Sie hochkarätige Werke aus der eigenen oder anderen Sammlungen. In der Wunderkammer stellt Sammler Thomas Olbricht Kunst, wissenschaftliche Instrumente und skurrile und somit spannende Dinge aus Barock und Renaissance aus: der Kokosnuss-Pokal Alexanders von Humboldt etwa oder das Präparat eines Nilkrokodils.

Unsere Tipps für Ihren Besuch im Museum The Kennedys

Fahren Sie mit den S-Bahnen S1, S2 oder S25 bis zur Station Oranienburger Straße. Von hier aus brauchen Sie nur ein paar Meter gehen, um die Ausstellung The Kennedys zu erreichen. Alternativ nutzen Sie die U-Bahn U6 zum Oranienburger Tor. Mit der Berlin WelcomeCard erhalten Sie 30% Rabatt auf den Eintritt. Führungen bietet das Haus gegen Gebühr für Gruppen an. Ab zehn Personen gilt der ermäßigte Preis. Zudem gibt es spezielle Workshops für Schülergruppen. Details entnehmen Sie der Webseite des Museums.

Öffnungszeiten

Dienstag 10:00 – 18:00
Mittwoch 10:00 – 18:00
Donnerstag 10:00 – 18:00
Freitag 10:00 – 18:00
Samstag 11:00 – 18:00
Sonntag 11:00 – 18:00