Skip to main content

The magnificent magic of Baroque theater on the stage of the Komische Oper Berlin: In the acclaimed production of Norwegian theater magician Stefan Herheim and under the musical direction of Baroque specialist Konrad Junghänel, Handel's opera Xerxes becomes a feast for the eyes, ears and all the senses.

Xerxes
Xerxes Promo

With great opulence and attention to detail, Herheim tells the story of the powerful Persian king Xerxes, who can move hosts and yet remains powerless in love, as a humorous play on performance conventions that is filled with the spirit of Handel's time and yet bridges the gap to today - "a theatrical marvel that proves how education and historically aware complexity of thought can enhance our capacity for pleasure" [FAZ].

3h 20 m incl. intermission

Buy ticket

Additional information
Georg Friedrich HandelDramma per musica in Three Acts [1738] Libretto after Nicolò Minato and Silvio StampigliaGerman text version by Eberhard Schmidtin an arrangement by Stefan HerheimCo-production with Deutschen Oper am Rhein
Participating artists
Jean-Christophe Charron (Chöre)
Franck Evin (Licht)
Ingo Gerlach (Dramaturgie)
Stefan Herheim (Inszenierung)
Alexander Meier-Dörzenbach (Dramaturgie)
N.N. (Musikalische Leitung)
Heike Scheele (Bühnenbild)
Gesine Völlm (Kostüme)
N.N. (Xerxes)
N.N. (Arsamenes)
N.N. (Amastris)
N.N. (Atalanta)
N.N. (Ariodates)
N.N. (Elviro)
Chorsolisten und Komparserie der Komischen Oper Berlin
Es spielt das Orchester der Komischen Oper Berlin.
Events
Datum
Komische Oper Berlin
Datum
Komische Oper Berlin
Datum
Komische Oper Berlin
Datum
Komische Oper Berlin
Datum
Komische Oper Berlin

Direkt zum Inhalt

Der prachtvolle Zauber des Barocktheaters auf der Bühne der Komischen Oper Berlin: In der umjubelten Inszenierung des norwegischen Theatermagiers Stefan Herheim und unter der musikalischen Leitung von Barockspezialist Konrad Junghänel wird Händels Oper Xerxes zu einem Fest für Augen, Ohren und alle Sinne.

Xerxes
Xerxes © Promo

Mit großer Opulenz und viel Liebe zum Detail erzählt Herheim die Geschichte um den mächtigen Perserkönig Xerxes, der Heerscharen bewegen kann und doch in der Liebe machtlos bleibt, als humorvolles Spiel mit Aufführungskonventionen, das vom Geist der Händelzeit erfüllt ist und doch die Brücke zum Heute schlägt – »ein Theaterwunder, das beweist, wie Bildung und geschichtsbewusste Komplexität des Denkens unsere Vergnügungsfähigkeit steigern können« [FAZ].

3h 20 m inkl. Pause

Ticket kaufen

Zusätzliche Informationen
Georg Friedrich HändelDramma per musica in drei Akten [1738]Libretto nach Niccolò Minato und Silvio StampigliaDeutsche Übersetzung von Eberhard SchmidtIn einer Einrichtung von Stefan HerheimEine Koproduktion mit der Deutschen Oper am Rhein
Teilnehmende Künstler
Jean-Christophe Charron (Chöre)
Franck Evin (Licht)
Ingo Gerlach (Dramaturgie)
Stefan Herheim (Inszenierung)
Alexander Meier-Dörzenbach (Dramaturgie)
N.N. (Musikalische Leitung)
Heike Scheele (Bühnenbild)
Gesine Völlm (Kostüme)
N.N. (Xerxes)
N.N. (Arsamenes)
N.N. (Amastris)
N.N. (Atalanta)
N.N. (Ariodates)
N.N. (Elviro)
Chorsolisten und Komparserie der Komischen Oper Berlin
Es spielt das Orchester der Komischen Oper Berlin.
Termine
Datum
Komische Oper Berlin
Datum
Komische Oper Berlin
Datum
Komische Oper Berlin
Datum
Komische Oper Berlin
Datum
Komische Oper Berlin