Skip to main content
The event you were looking for has already taken place. Find many more events, tips and recommendations in Berlin's biggest event calendar on visitBerlin.com.

Painting, graphic, kinetic object

What once began as a concrete utopia is now art history. In 1974, an international group of artists was founded under the provisional name System, which artistically opposed the neo-realism of the post-war period that dominated Berlin at the time. Renamed Systhema, the twelve artists and one woman artist living and working in the city gave an "answer to a lack" (Karl Ruhrberg) in the midst of realist tendencies.

alte und neue Gebäude in Potsdam
alte und neue Gebäude in Potsdam © tanja dickert

With their works they demanded a connection to an international concept of art. In the catalog for the artist group's 1978 exhibition in Bern, Ruhrberg goes on to write, "Abstract art, especially art that tends to be systematic-constructive to technoid-kinetic, has a hard time in Berlin ..."

Kunstverein KunstHaus Potsdam is pleased to present, with the exhibition Systhema. Positions of the Concrete to present a retrospective of this former "cultural (fighting) position" (Richard Paul Lohse) and to renegotiate it. With paintings, objects, and a graphic portfolio from 1978, the exhibition is a tribute and a reminder of the work of the artist group.

Thanks to loans from the internationally acclaimed Grauwinkel Collection, based in Kleinmachnow, their constructive artistic positions can be seen at KunstHaus.

With:

Frank Badur | Andreas Brandt | Stefanos Gazis | Johannes Geccelli | Kristin Gerber | Thomas Kaminsky | Jan Kotik | George Rickey | Christian Roeckenschuss | Klaus J. Schoen | Peter Sedgley | Rudolf Valenta
Additional information

Direkt zum Inhalt
Ihre gesuchte Veranstaltung hat bereits stattgefunden. Finden Sie viele weitere Veranstaltungen, Tipps und Empfehlungen in Berlins größtem Veranstaltungskalender auf visitBerlin.de.

Malerei, Graphik, kinetisches Objekt

Was einst als konkrete Utopie begann, ist heute Kunstgeschichte. 1974 gründete sich unter dem vorläufigen Namen System eine internationale Künstler:innengruppe, die sich dem zur damaligen Zeit in Berlin dominierenden Neo-Realismus der Nachkriegszeit künstlerisch entgegenstellte. Umgetauft in Systhema gaben die in der Stadt lebenden und arbeitenden zwölf Künstler und eine Künstlerin eine „Antwort auf einen Mangel“ (Karl Ruhrberg) inmitten realistischer Tendenzen.

alte und neue Gebäude in Potsdam
alte und neue Gebäude in Potsdam © tanja dickert

Mit ihren Werken forderten sie den Anschluss an einen internationalen Kunstbegriff. Im Katalog zur Ausstellung der Künstlergruppe 1978 in Bern schreibt Ruhrberg weiter: „Abstrakte Kunst, vor allem die tendenziell systematisch-konstruktive bis technoid-kinetische, hat es schwer in Berlin …“

Der Kunstverein KunstHaus Potsdam freut sich, mit der aufgrund der Corona-Pandemie in den Sommer verschobenen Ausstellung Systhema. Positionen des Konkreten eine Retrospektive dieser einstigen „kulturelle(n) Kampfposition“ (Richard Paul Lohse) zu zeigen und diese neu zu verhandeln. Mit Malereien, Objekten und einer Grafikmappe von 1978 ist die Ausstellung eine Hommage und eine Erinnerung an das Wirken der Künstlergruppe.

Dank der Leihgaben der in Kleinmachnow beheimateten und international beachteten Sammlung Grauwinkel sind deren konstruktive künstlerische Positionen im KunstHaus zu sehen.

Mit: 
Frank Badur | Andreas Brandt | Stefanos Gazis | Johannes Geccelli | Kristin Gerber | Thomas Kaminsky | Jan Kotik | George Rickey | Christian Roeckenschuss | Klaus J. Schoen | Peter Sedgley | Rudolf Valenta
Zusätzliche Informationen