Skip to main content

Sought after as conductor, vocal soloist and gambist, the Canadian musician Vanessa Chartrand-Rodrigue formed the OpusXX Orchestra in her current hometown Berlin out of a passion for the fascinating and neglected repertoire of female composers across the centuries. Her experience in directing music both from its harmonic roots as a continuo player as well as its lyrical aspect as a singer give her a unique insight from the conductor's podium.

Veranstaltungen in Berlin: SONGS OF CARE. LISTENING SESSIONS #1: Vanessa Chartrand-Rodrigue (OpusXX) & Michael Taylor
© Promo

Acclaimed by critics for his “great virtuosity”, “vocal radiance” and “outstanding voice”, the Canadian, Berlin-based Countertenor Michael Taylor has performed leading roles in operas around the world ranging from the baroque to the modern era.

In SONGS OF CARE. Listening Sessions #1 Vanessa and Michael present a creative and musically unique re-interpretation of works by women composers. Taking as the seed for their improvisations, will be the works of Hildegard von Bingen, Barbara Strozzi, Lily Boulanger. „In contextualizing their works, we change our perspective not only of their place in history, but how we perceive gender in today’s world“, states Vanessa as a core interest in the work of OpusXX. And offers a deep insight into nothing less than a (feminist) counter history of music.
Additional information
Events
Datum
TAK - Theater im Aufbau Haus - Berlin-Kreuzberg

Direkt zum Inhalt

Die als Dirigentin, Gesangssolistin und Gambistin gefragte kanadische Musikerin Vanessa Chartrand-Rodrigue gründete das OpusXX Orchestra in ihrer heutigen Heimatstadt Berlin aus ihrer Leidenschaft für das faszinierende und vernachlässigte Repertoire von Komponistinnen aus allen Jahrhunderten.  Ihre Erfahrung in der Leitung von Musik sowohl von ihren harmonischen Wurzeln als Continuospielerin als auch von ihrem lyrischen Aspekt als Sängerin geben ihr einen einzigartigen Einblick vom Dirigentenpult aus.

Veranstaltungen in Berlin: SONGS OF CARE. LISTENING SESSIONS #1: Vanessa Chartrand-Rodrigue (OpusXX) & Michael Taylor
© Promo

Der kanadische, in Berlin lebende Countertenor Michael Taylor, der von der Kritik für seine „große Virtuosität“, seine „stimmliche Ausstrahlung“ und seine „herausragende Stimme“ gelobt wird, hat in Opern auf der ganzen Welt, vom Barock bis zur Moderne, Hauptrollen gesungen.

In SONGS OF CARE. Listening Sessions #1 präsentieren Vanessa und Michael eine kreative und musikalisch einzigartige Neuinterpretation von Werken von Komponistinnen. Als Ausgangspunkt für ihre Improvisationen dienen die Werke von Hildegard von Bingen, Barbara Strozzi und Lily Boulanger. „Indem wir ihre Werke kontextualisieren, verändern wir nicht nur unsere Perspektive auf ihren Platz in der Geschichte, sondern auch darauf, wie wir Geschlecht in der heutigen Welt wahrnehmen“, erklärt Vanessa als ein Kerninteresse der Arbeit von OpusXX. Und bietet einen tiefen Einblick in nichts weniger als eine (feministische) Gegengeschichte der Musik.
Zusätzliche Informationen
Termine
Datum
TAK - Theater im Aufbau Haus - Berlin-Kreuzberg