Skip to main content

mit Lucas & Arthur Jussen, Artists in Residence

An unusual line-up awaits you with an unusual chamber concert: the Artists in Residence, the piano duo Lucas & Arthur Jussen, will be visited by the percussionists Alexej Gerassimez and Emil Kuyumcuyan.

Lucas und Arthur Jussen
Lucas und Arthur Jussen © Marco Borggreve

Béla Bartók was the first composer to use percussion as a full chamber instrument in his Sonata of 1937/38, but added: "The xylophone player just has to practice his part nicely." The composer Minoru Miki, who died in 2011, composed a whole series of works in various instrumentations for the marimba, which is very common in Japan.

Gershwin's showpiece for pianists, the world-famous "Rhapsody in Blue" - here in the version for two pianos - is followed by "Frank's House" by Andrew Norman, who was inspired for this quartet by architect Frank Gehry's house in Santa Monica, California. For the finale, the four musicians remain in the U.S., but return to the East Coast to really turn up the heat with an arrangement of the "Symphonic Dances" from Bernstein's "West Side Story."

  • Béla Bartók - Sonata for Two Pianos and Percussion
  • Minoru Miki - "Marimba Spiritual II

Intermission

  • George Gershwin - "Rhapsody in Blue" (version for 2 pianos)
  • Andrew Norman - "Frank's HouseLeonard Bernstein - Symphonic Dances from the musical "West Side Story" arranged for two pianos and percussion by Irwin Kostal

Buy ticket

Additional information

Educational Services

http://www.konzerthaus.de/de/schule
Participating artists
Lucas & Arthur Jussen (Klavier)
Alexej Gerassimez (Perkussion und Schlagzeug)
Emil Kuyumcuyan (Perkussion und Schlagzeug)
Events
Datum
Konzerthaus Berlin - Großer Saal

Direkt zum Inhalt

mit Lucas & Arthur Jussen, Artists in Residence

Eine ungewöhnliche Besetzung erwartet Sie mit einem ungewöhnlichen Kammerkonzert: Die Artists in Residence, das Klavierduo Lucas & Arthur Jussen, bekommen Besuch von den Schlagzeugern Alexej Gerassimez und Emil Kuyumcuyan.

Lucas und Arthur Jussen
Lucas und Arthur Jussen © Marco Borggreve

Béla Bartók war der erste Komponist, der in seiner Sonate von 1937/38 das Schlagzeug als vollwertiges Kammermusikinstrument einsetzte, fügte aber auch hinzu: „Der Xylophonspieler muss halt seine Partie schön üben.“ Für die in Japan sehr verbreitete Marimba hat der 2011 verstorbene Komponist Minoru Miki eine ganze Reihe Werke in unterschiedlicher Besetzung komponiert.

Auf Gershwins Paradestück für Pianisten, die weltberühmte „Rhapsodie in Blue“ – hier in der Version für zwei Klaviere – folgt „Frank’s House“ von Andrew Norman, der sich für dieses Quartett vom Haus des Architekten Frank Gehry im kalifornischen Santa Monica inspirieren ließ. Zum Finale bleiben die vier Musiker in den USA, kehren aber an die Ostküste zurück, um mit einer Bearbeitung der „Sinfonischen Tänze“ aus Bernsteins „West Side Story“ so richtig aufzudrehen.

  • Béla Bartók - Sonate für zwei Klaviere und Schlagzeug
  • Minoru Miki - „Marimba Spiritual II“
Pause

  • George Gershwin - „Rhapsodie in Blue“ (Fassung für 2 Klaviere)
  • Andrew Norman - „Frank's House“
  • Leonard Bernstein - Sinfonische Tänze aus dem Musical „West Side Story“ bearbeitet für zwei Klaviere und Perkussion von Irwin Kostal

Ticket kaufen

Zusätzliche Informationen

Bildungsangebote

http://www.konzerthaus.de/de/schule
Teilnehmende Künstler
Lucas & Arthur Jussen (Klavier)
Alexej Gerassimez (Perkussion und Schlagzeug)
Emil Kuyumcuyan (Perkussion und Schlagzeug)
Termine
Datum
Konzerthaus Berlin - Großer Saal