Skip to main content

For the first time in Germany, the festival Queering the Crip, Cripping the Queer presents a work by the Sāmoan/Pākeha artist Pelenakeke Brown. As a radical act, Pelenakeke places the queer, crip, indigenous body at the center of the performance. The piece follows associations around the two titular terms of Enter and Return, which she links to Indigenous concepts of space and time. At the same time, the words stand for two of the most important keys on the computer keyboard, giving us the opportunity to enter digital spaces.

KEY VISUAL Pelenakeke Brown: Enter // Return
KEY VISUAL Pelenakeke Brown: Enter // Return © Jan Grygoriew

During the pandemic, inside spaces and home became much more than a place to shelter for many people: their own four walls were suddenly a sanctuary from the precarity of the outside world, where the Internet often acted as a portal. Thus, Pelenakeke Brown searches for the location of the queer, indigenous, and crip body in (digital) space. At the same time, the piece explores questions about social notions of dance and movement. With her collective of disabled artists, Pelenakeke Brown takes a new look at aesthetics and the art of the disabled body in this interdisciplinary performance.

(Program IN ENGLISH AND SĀMOAN)

Buy ticket

Additional information
Performance, Director Pelenakeke Brown Performance Design Imogen Zino Sound Design Jesse Austin-Stewart ProduCTION Jessica Palalagi Production Support Deborah Lagaaia Paulo

A production by Pelenakeke Brown in co-production with Q Theatre, Auckland New Zealand. Supported by Creative New Zealand. The guest performance is made possible by funding from the Senate Department for Culture and Europe - open funding as part of the festival Queering the Crip, Cripping the Queer. Media partner: taz, die tageszeitung
Events
Datum
Sophiensaele - Festsaal
Datum
Sophiensaele - Festsaal

Direkt zum Inhalt

Die Sāmoa-Pākeha-Künstlerin Pelenakeke Brown präsentiert im Rahmen des Festivals Queering the Crip, Cripping the Queer erstmalig eine künstlerische Arbeit in Deutschland. Als radikalen Akt stellt sie den queeren, crippen, indigenen Körper in den Mittelpunkt der Performance. Das Stück folgt Assoziationen rund um die beiden titelgebenden Begriffe von Enter und Return, die Brown mit indigenen Konzepten von Raum und Zeit verknüpft. Gleichzeitig stehen die Worte für zwei der wichtigsten Tasten auf der Computertastatur und geben uns die Möglichkeit, digitale Räume zu betreten.

KEY VISUAL Pelenakeke Brown: Enter // Return
KEY VISUAL Pelenakeke Brown: Enter // Return © Jan Grygoriew

Während der Pandemie wurden Innenräume und das Zuhause für viele Menschen viel mehr als nur ein Ort der Unterkunft: Die eigenen vier Wände waren plötzlich ein Zufluchtsort vor der Ungewissheit der Außenwelt, in der das Internet oft als Tor nach außen fungierte. Pelenakeke Brown sucht, wo der queere, indigene und crippe Körper im (digitalen) Raum verortet ist. Gleichzeitig geht das Stück der Frage nach, was für uns Tanz und Bewegung ausmachen. Mit ihrem Kollektiv aus behinderten Kunstschaffenden wirft Pelenakeke Brown in dieser interdisziplinären Performance einen neuen Blick auf die Ästhetik und Kunst des behinderten Körpers.

(Programm AUF ENGLISCH UND SĀMOANISCH)

Ticket kaufen

Zusätzliche Informationen
Künstlerische Leitung, Performance Pelenakeke Brown Performance Design Imogen Zino Sound Design Jesse Austin-Stewart Produktionsleitung Jessica Palalagi Produktionsassistenz Deborah Lagaaia Paulo

Eine Produktion von Pelenakeke Brown in Koproduktion mit Q Theatre, Auckland New Zealand. Gefördert durch Creative New Zealand. Das Gastspiel wird ermöglicht aus Mitteln der Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa – Spartenoffene Förderung im Rahmen des Festivals Queering the Crip, Cripping the Queer. Medienpartner: taz, die tageszeitung
Termine
Datum
Sophiensaele - Festsaal
Datum
Sophiensaele - Festsaal