Skip to main content

“Our work makes us free,” a high-ranking National Socialist shouted to his so-called comrades in the middle of the Second World War. In doing so, he not only continued the long tradition of “German work,” according to which Germans are said to have a very special relationship with work. At the same time, he modified a widespread concentration camp inscription. Because “Work makes you free” was emblazoned on the camp gates of Auschwitz, Dachau, Sachsenhausen and elsewhere.


But what does the sentence actually mean? Whose work sets whom free? And above all: from what? To answer these questions, Nikolas Lelle takes a look at texts by Shoah survivors Primo Levi, Jean Améry and Tibor Wohl, who each wrote texts about the Nazi motto “Work makes you free.” Dealing with Nazi ideology and its “Meanings” is still a challenge today. Because how can it be that, on the one hand, this sentence is taboo, and on the other hand, the extreme right constantly plays with it and it degenerates into a hashtag on social media platforms? Only a successful reappraisal of the past can enable society to face its past and present.

Nikolas Lelle has been working at the Amadeu Antonio Foundation since 2020 and is primarily concerned with anti-Semitism, the memory of National Socialism and “German work”. Previously, after studying philosophy and sociology in Frankfurt am Main and Mainz, he received his doctorate in social philosophy at the Humboldt University of Berlin.

Buy ticket

Additional information
Dates
March 2024
MoTuWeThFrSaSu
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31

Direkt zum Inhalt

„Unsere Arbeit macht uns frei“, rief ein ranghoher Nationalsozialist inmitten des Zweiten Weltkriegs seinen sogenannten Volksgenossen zu. Er knüpfte damit nicht nur an die lange Tradition „deutscher Arbeit“ an, der nach die Deutschen eine ganz besondere Beziehung zu Arbeit haben sollen. Er wandelte zugleich eine weitverbreitete KZ-Inschrift ab. Denn „Arbeit macht frei“ prangte am Lagertor von Auschwitz, Dachau, Sachsenhausen und andernorts.


Doch was hat der Satz überhaupt zu bedeuten? Wessen Arbeit macht wen frei? Und vor allem: wovon? Um diese Fragen zu beantworten, wirft Nikolas Lelle einen Blick auf Texte der Shoah-Überlebenden Primo Levi, Jean Améry und Tibor Wohl, die jeweils Texte über die NS-Devise „Arbeit macht frei“ verfassten.Der Umgang mit der NS-Ideologie und ihren „Sinnsprüchen“ ist eine Herausforderung bis heute. Denn wie kann es sein, dass dieser Satz einerseits tabuisiert ist, andererseits die extreme Rechte ständig mit ihm spielt und er auf Social-Media-Plattformen zum Hashtag verkommt? Erst eine gelungene Aufarbeitung der Vergangenheit kann die Gesellschaft dazu befähigen, sich ihrer Geschichte wie Gegenwart zu stellen.

Nikolas Lelle arbeitet seit 2020 bei der Amadeu Antonio Stiftung und beschäftigt sich vornehmlich mit Antisemitismus, der Erinnerung an den Nationalsozialismus und „deutscher Arbeit“. Zuvor promovierte er – nach einem Studium der Philosophie und Soziologie in Frankfurt am Main und Mainz – an der Humboldt Universität zu Berlin in der Sozialphilosophie.

Ticket kaufen

Zusätzliche Informationen
Termine
März 2024
MoDiMiDoFrSaSo
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31