Skip to main content
Thomas Scheibitz, Masterplan, Detail, 2016, Öl, Vinyl, Pigmentmarker und Sprühfarbe auf Leinwand
Thomas Scheibitz, Masterplan, Detail, 2016, Öl, Vinyl, Pigmentmarker und Sprühfarbe auf Leinwand © Thomas Scheibitz
Top Event

Pablo Picasso x Thomas Scheibitz

Sign Scene Lexicon

There is hardly a contemporary artist who works so complexly with set pieces and references that come from everyday life and from the fund of art history alike, such as Thomas Scheibitz (born 1968 in Radeberg near Dresden). His dense, often brightly colored paintings and his shadowy, often puristic sculptures can be understood as free montages of reality.

Tickets

Address

Museum Berggruen

Schloßstraße 1 14059  Berlin


They are formally highly condensed by the artist as complex image or object memories in which the visual culture of life has been inscribed. Unmistakable is the influence of Pablo Picasso and cubism. "Of all the great isms of the 20th century," explains Thomas Scheibitz, "Cubism has remained the most radical, most influential."

An open course along the similarities

The Museum Berggruen, dedicated to the art of Picasso and his time, draws an arc from classical modernism to contemporary art. On the basis of about 45 works each shows that although Picasso and Scheibitz do not combine the same motifs, but a very similar artistic attitude. Both artists understand their work as an open process, which leads constantly to new variants and updates of the solutions already found. Nothing stays static here. Both artists at the same time stick to the fundamental idea of image and sculpture.

Thus, the exhibition is designed as a direct juxtaposition of "Picasso" and "Scheibitz", as an open course through the Museum Berggruen. The differences between the subliminally reflected everyday life - the old Paris and today's Berlin - could hardly be greater. All the more striking are the formal and substantive parallels, the respective struggles for credibility or validity - in the face of a (already in Picasso's time) fragile, unstable world.

A special exhibition of the National Gallery of the Staatliche Museen zu Berlin.

TicketsEvent calendar

Find further information here

MondayTuesdayWednesdayThursdayFridaySaturdaySunday
1
10:00
2
No event
3
No event
4
No event
5
No event
6
No event
7
No event
8
No event
9
No event
10
No event
11
No event
12
10:00
13
No event
14
No event
15
No event
16
10:00
17
No event
18
No event
19
No event
20
No event
21
No event
22
No event
23
No event
24
No event
25
No event
26
No event
27
No event
28
10:00
29
No event
30
15:00

Direkt zum Inhalt
Thomas Scheibitz, Masterplan, Detail, 2016, Öl, Vinyl, Pigmentmarker und Sprühfarbe auf Leinwand
Thomas Scheibitz, Masterplan, Detail, 2016, Öl, Vinyl, Pigmentmarker und Sprühfarbe auf Leinwand © Thomas Scheibitz
Top-Veranstaltung

Pablo Picasso x Thomas Scheibitz

Zeichen Bühne Lexikon

Kaum ein zeitgenössischer Künstler arbeitet so vielschichtig mit Versatzstücken und Referenzen, die aus dem Alltag und aus dem Fundus der Kunstgeschichte gleichermaßen stammen, wie Thomas Scheibitz (geb. 1968 in Radeberg bei Dresden). Seine dichten, oft leuchtend-farbigen Gemälde und seine schemenhaft, oft puristisch angelegten Skulpturen lassen sich als freie Realitäts-Montagen verstehen.

Tickets

Adresse

Museum Berggruen

Schloßstraße 1 14059  Berlin


Sie zeigen sich als komplexe Bild- oder Objektspeicher, in denen sich die visuelle Lebenskultur eingeschrieben hat, vom Künstler formal jeweils stark verdichtet. Unverkennbar ist der Einfluss von Pablo Picasso und dem Kubismus. „Von allen großen Ismen des 20. Jahrhunderts“, erklärt Thomas Scheibitz, „ist der Kubismus am radikalsten, am prägendsten geblieben.“

Ein offener Parcours entlang der Ähnlichkeiten

Das Museum Berggruen, das der Kunst Picassos und seiner Zeit gewidmet ist, schlägt mit dieser Ausstellung einen Bogen von der Klassischen Moderne in die Kunst der Gegenwart. Anhand von circa 45 Werken jeweils zeigt sich, dass Picasso und Scheibitz zwar nicht die gleichen Motive verbinden, jedoch eine sehr ähnliche künstlerische Haltung. Beide Künstler begreifen ihre Arbeit als offenen Prozess, der unablässig zu neuen Varianten und Aktualisierungen der bereits gefundenen Lösungen führt. Nichts bleibt hier statisch. Beide Künstler halten zugleich an der grundsätzlichen Idee von Bild und Skulptur fest.

So ist die Ausstellung als direkte Gegenüberstellung von „Picasso“ und „Scheibitz“ angelegt, als offener Parcours durch das Museum Berggruen. Die Unterschiede des unterschwellig jeweils mitreflektierten Lebensalltags – dem alten Paris und dem heutigen Berlin – könnten kaum größer sein. Umso markanter sind die formalen und inhaltlichen Parallelen, das jeweilige Ringen um Glaubwürdigkeit oder Gültigkeit – angesichts einer (bereits zu Picassos Zeiten) brüchigen, instabilen Welt.

Eine Sonderausstellung der Nationalgalerie der Staatlichen Museen zu Berlin.

TicketsVeranstaltungskalender

Hier finden Sie weitere Informationen

MontagDienstagMittwochDonnerstagFreitagSamstagSonntag
1
10:00
2
No event
3
No event
4
No event
5
No event
6
No event
7
No event
8
No event
9
No event
10
No event
11
No event
12
10:00
13
No event
14
No event
15
No event
16
10:00
17
No event
18
No event
19
No event
20
No event
21
No event
22
No event
23
No event
24
No event
25
No event
26
No event
27
No event
28
10:00
29
No event
30
15:00