Skip to main content

Marie Rief's visually powerful works, which create a new identity, a new reality, through constant repetition, can be seen from Sept. 15 - Nov. 27 in the exhibition "identity by repetition" at the Willy Brandt House.

Veranstaltungen in Berlin: Marie Rief - identity by repetition
© Marie Rief


Marie Rief works with analog photographic paper, drawings, laser printing and copying. Her works illustrate the existence and errors of objects - objects are called into question through continual copying: What is original, what is copy, how do we perceive transformation processes?


"I am interested in the point of tension between how object and photograph or copy of an object relate to each other. My work includes photographic works whose negatives are hand-drawn, series of intentional misprints, contact prints of laser printing, and paper objects and installations," Marie Rief says of her works.

For her series that combine laser printing and photographic paper, for example, she has printer cartridges printed until the paper remains entirely white. Printed transparent papers are her negatives, from which analog prints are made on photographic paper.


Marie Rief was born in Berlin in 1987 and studied fine arts at the Berlin University of the Arts. During this time she developed her experimental and conceptual work with photographic material, drawing and copying.

Marie Rief's works in the exhibition allude to the importance of randomness in the machine printing process. The photographic works document the progression of the cartridge's exhaustion - as well as the assembly line-like, repetitive working off of prints in the darkroom. In the course of the series, the viewer can no longer grasp the object that stood at the beginning of the duplication. The habitual, learned perception searches for connections and thus creates a new reality, a new identity through repetition.


- Exhibition opening: Wednesday, September 14 | 7:00 p.m.
Additional information
Opening hours
Tuesday - Sunday, 12 - 18 h
Events
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus

Direkt zum Inhalt

Die bildstarken Werke von Marie Rief, die durch ständige Wiederholung eine neue Identität, eine neue Wirklichkeit schaffen, sind vom 15.9. - 27.11. in der Ausstellung „identity by repetition“ im Willy-Brandt-Haus zu sehen.

Veranstaltungen in Berlin: Marie Rief - identity by repetition
© Marie Rief

Marie Rief arbeitet mit analogem Fotopapier, Zeichnungen, Laserdruck und Kopie. Ihre Werke bebildern Existenz und Fehler von Objekten - durch fortwährende Kopie werden Gegenstände in Frage gestellt: Was ist Original, was Kopie, wie nehmen wir Transformationsprozesse wahr?

„Mich interessiert der Spannungspunkt, wie sich Objekt und Fotografie bzw. Kopie eines Objektes zueinander verhalten. Meine Arbeit umfasst Fotoarbeiten, deren Negative von Hand gezeichnet sind, Reihen absichtlicher Fehlausdrucke, Kontaktabzüge von Laserdruck sowie Papierobjekte und -installationen“, sagt Marie Rief über ihre Werke.

Für ihre Serien, die Laserdruck und Fotopapier miteinander vereinen, lässt sie zum Beispiel Druckerpatronen so lange drucken bis das Papier gänzlich weiß bleibt. Bedruckte Transparentpapiere sind ihre Negative, von ihnen entstehen analoge Abzüge auf Fotopapier.


Marie Rief wurde 1987 in Berlin geboren und studierte Bildende Kunst an der Universität der Künste Berlin. In dieser Zeit entwickelt sie ihre experimentelle und konzeptionelle Arbeit mit Fotomaterial, Zeichnung und Kopie.

Marie Riefs Werke in der Ausstellung spielen auf die Bedeutung von Zufälligkeit im maschinellen Druckprozess an. Die Fotoarbeiten dokumentieren das Verlaufsbild der Erschöpfung der Patrone - wie auch das fließbandartige, repetitive Ab-arbeiten in der Dunkelkammer an den Abzügen. Der Betrachter kann das Objekt, das am Anfang der Vervielfältigung stand, im Verlauf der Serie nicht mehr erfassen. Die gewohnte, gelernte Wahrnehmung sucht nach Verbindungen und schafft so eine neue Wirklichkeit, eine neue Identität durch Wiederholung.


• Ausstellungseröffnung: Mittwoch, 14. September | 19:00 Uhr

Zusätzliche Informationen
Öffnungszeiten
Dienstag - Sonntag, 12 - 18 Uhr
Termine
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus
Datum
Willy-Brandt-Haus