Skip to main content

»Die Träume anderer Leute« – Judith Holofernes erzählt, Nora Tschirner liest: Eine Buchpremiere

Album, promotion, tour. For almost twenty years, the dynamics of the music business determined Judith Holofernes' life. During this time, with "Wir sind Helden" and her solo project, she became one of the best-known and most influential singers of her generation. In her autobiographical book, she now looks back on the time after the heroes, on crises, dreams and a groundbreaking decision - and shows herself to be a subtle storyteller.

Judith Holofernes | Nora Tschirner
Judith Holofernes | Nora Tschirner © Marco Sensche | Marco Justus Schoeler

With great clarity and tenderness and her characteristic wit, Holofernes writes about the curse and blessing of the early success of the heroes; about the compatibility of family and being a front woman; about the public perception of her own body, growing up with her lesbian mother in Freiburg; about the deep cuts in her life, the doubts, the pain. Again and again it is also about the music industry, about the relationship to her fans, strange concerts in the light, but also about the rigid mechanisms of the business and sexism.

In "Other People's Dreams," Judith Holofernes impressively shows how she gradually freed herself from the commercial constraints and confines of the music business. How she became the artist she wanted to be for so long - and thus got her life back.

"Other People's Dreams" will be published by Kiepenheuer & Witsch Verlag on September 8, 2022; the audio book of the same name, spoken by Nora Tschirner, will be released by Lübbe.

(Program in German)
Additional information
Eine Veranstaltung von Literatur LIVE in Kooperation mit dem Kiepenheuer & Witsch Verlag, der Thalia Buchhandlung und dem Heimathafen Neukölln
Events
Datum
Heimathafen Neukölln

Direkt zum Inhalt

»Die Träume anderer Leute« – Judith Holofernes erzählt, Nora Tschirner liest: Eine Buchpremiere

Album, Promotion, Tour. Beinahe zwanzig Jahre lang bestimmt die Dynamik des Musikbetriebs Judith Holofernes‘ Leben. In dieser Zeit wird sie, mit »Wir sind Helden« und ihrem Soloprojekt, zu einer der bekanntesten und prägendsten Sängerinnen ihrer Generation. In ihrem autobiografischen Buch blickt sie jetzt zurück auf die Zeit nach den Helden, auf Krisen, Träume und eine wegweisende Entscheidung – und zeigt sich dabei als feinsinnige Erzählerin.

Judith Holofernes | Nora Tschirner
Judith Holofernes | Nora Tschirner © Marco Sensche | Marco Justus Schoeler

Mit großer Klarheit und Zartheit und dem ihr eigenen Witz schreibt Holofernes über Fluch und Segen des frühen Erfolgs der Helden; über die Vereinbarkeit von Familie und Frontfrausein; über die öffentliche Wahrnehmung des eigenen Körpers, das Aufwachsen mit ihrer lesbischen Mutter in Freiburg; über die tiefen Einschnitte in ihrem Leben, die Zweifel, den Schmerz. Immer wieder geht es auch um die Musikbranche, um das Verhältnis zu ihren Fans, eigenartige Konzerte im Hellen, aber auch um die starren Mechanismen des Betriebs und den Sexismus.

Eindrücklich zeigt Judith Holofernes in »Die Träume anderer Leute«, wie sie sich nach und nach aus den kommerziellen Zwängen und der Enge des Musikbetriebs befreit hat. Wie sie zu der Künstlerin wurde, die sie so lange sein wollte – und damit ihr Leben zurückbekam.

»Die Träume anderer Leute« erscheint am 8. September 2022 im Kiepenheuer & Witsch Verlag, das gleichnamige Hörbuch, gesprochen von Nora Tschirner, erscheint bei Lübbe.
Zusätzliche Informationen
Eine Veranstaltung von Literatur LIVE in Kooperation mit dem Kiepenheuer & Witsch Verlag, der Thalia Buchhandlung und dem Heimathafen Neukölln
Termine
Datum
Heimathafen Neukölln