Skip to main content

Short early peaces

The modern art ensemble presents seven short early pieces by composers of different generations united by the momentum of departure. Tomoya Yokokawa's "Flowers without Scent", for example, consists of the miniatures "Snow Rain", "White Snow", "Peony Snow", "Powder Snow", "Sleet" and "Snow in Spring". He explores paradoxical "timbres without color" analogous to "flowers without fragrance."

modern art ensemble
modern art ensemble © Henrik Jordan


In "Alleanza d'archi" by Charlotte Seither, three strings become one large string instrument. Elena Mendoza's three fragments "Nebelsplitter" are a lively study in timbre and sound gesture. Jürgen Kupfer's piano trio, a world premiere, takes us back to the aesthetics of the early 1970s.


In Mert Morali's "A captured winter," powerful gestures are repeatedly interrupted, only to begin anew, to revolt anew. Finally, the bass flute rises for the last time to melodic movement, only to be smothered in pauses and at the in breathing noises.


  • Makiko Nishikaze - "scene for six" for flute, clarinet, violin, viola, cello and piano
  • Charlotte Seither - "Alleanza d'archi" for violin, viola and violoncello
  • Tomoya Yokokawa - "Flowers without fragrance" for flute, viola and piano
  • Elena Mendoza - "Nebelsplitter" for violin, viola, violoncello and piano
  • Intermission
  • Jürgen Kupfer - piano trio (premiere)
  • Rebecca Saunders - "The undersite of green" for clarinet, violin and piano
  • Mert Morali - "A captured winter" for flute, clarinet, violin, viola, violoncello and piano



Sponsored by Musikfonds e.V., with the support of "Neustart Kultur".
Additional information

Educational Services

http://www.konzerthaus.de/de/schule
Participating artists
modern art ensemble
Events
Datum
Konzerthaus Berlin - Werner-Otto-Saal

Direkt zum Inhalt

Short early peaces

Das modern art ensemble präsentiert sieben kurze frühe Stücke von Komponist*innen unterschiedlicher Generationen, die der Schwung des Aufbruchs vereint. Tomoya Yokokawas „Blumen ohne Duft“ besteht beispielsweise aus den Miniaturen „Schneeregen“, „Weißer Schnee“, „Pfingstrosenschnee“, „Pulverschnee“, „Graupel“ und „Schnee im Frühling“. Er untersucht analog zu „Blumen ohne Duft“ paradoxe „Klangfarben ohne Farbe“.

modern art ensemble
modern art ensemble © Henrik Jordan

In „Alleanza d’archi“ von Charlotte Seither werden drei Streicher zu einem großen Streichinstrument. Die drei Fragmente „Nebelsplitter“ Elena Mendozas sind eine lebendige Studie in Klangfarbe und Klanggeste. Jürgen Kupfers Klaviertrio führt als Uraufführung zurück in die Ästhetik der frühen 1970er Jahre.

In Mert Moralis „A captured winter“ werden kraftvolle Gesten immer wiederderholt unterbrochen, um immer wieder zu neu beginnen, neu zu aufbegehren. Schließlich rafft sich die Bassflöte ein letztes Mal zu melodischer Bewegung auf, nur um in Pausen und am in Atemgeräuschen erstickt zu werden.


  • Makiko Nishikaze - „scene for six“ für Flöte, Klarinette, Violine, Viola, Violoncello und Klavier
  • Charlotte Seither - „Alleanza d'archi“ für Violine, Viola und Violoncello
  • Tomoya Yokokawa - „Blumen ohne Duft“ für Flöte, Viola und Klavier
  • Elena Mendoza - „Nebelsplitter"für Violine, Viola, Violoncello und Klavier
  • Pause
  • Jürgen Kupfer - Klaviertrio (UA)
  • Rebecca Saunders - „The undersite of green“ für Klarinette, Violine und Klavier
  • Mert Morali - „A captured winter“ für Flöte, Klarinette, Violine, Viola, Violoncello und Klavier


Gefördert vom Musikfonds e.V., mit Unterstützung von „Neustart Kultur"

Zusätzliche Informationen

Bildungsangebote

http://www.konzerthaus.de/de/schule
Teilnehmende Künstler
modern art ensemble
Termine
Datum
Konzerthaus Berlin - Werner-Otto-Saal