Skip to main content

LIVE / Island in Limbo Tour EU/UK 2023

What Haken is to the UK, Between The Buried And Me is to the US: the country's most exciting and successful progressive metal band. Over many years and albums, both bands have gained a loyal fan base worldwide and are now coming to Germany together as part of their Island In Limbo tour.

HAKEN
HAKEN Promo

Both bands have their latest album in their luggage: Haken released the longplayer "Virus" in 2020; Between The Buried And Me succeeded with the work "Colors II" in 2021.

When singer Ross Jennings, multi-instrumentalist Richard Henshall and guitarist Matthew Marshall founded the band Haken in London in 2007, they were still teenagers. Initially, the three of them mainly undertook so-called "bedroom jams" until three more musicians completed the line-up. With bassist Thomas McLean, keyboardist Pete Jones and drummer Raymond Hearne, the line-up was initially complete, with Pete Jones and founding member Matthew Marshall being replaced by Charles Griffiths on guitar and Diego Tejeida on keys before the debut album was released.

By the time the first album "Aquarius" was released in 2010, the band had found their style: At its core, they played a technically sophisticated progressive metal, but not afraid of electronic elements. Since the third album "The Mountain", their international breakthrough, every record has climbed the charts throughout Europe. For example, the current work "Virus" rose to number 12 in Germany and number 7 in Switzerland. The upcoming performances should also be interesting because after Diego Tejeida's departure at the end of last year, founding member Pete Jones has now returned to the band.

Between The Buried And Me formed in 2000 in Raleigh, North Carolina. This quintet, which after some line-up changes in their early phase since 2004 consists of the two founding members Tommy Rogers (vocals/keyboard) and Paul Waggoner (guitar) and the later added Dustin Waring (guitar), Blake Richardson (drums) and Dan Briggs (bass), also has its roots in sophisticated progressive metal. However, depending on the content of their albums, they add elements of technically complex death metal, metalcore, avant-garde metal and trash metal, only to sound like powerful alternative rock a moment later.

Due to this variety of styles Between The Buried And Me were always a bit between the stools and didn't belong to any real scene - a unique selling point, which they made the main theme on their fourth album "Colors" from 2007. It was also the first of their albums to climb into the Top 100 of the Billboard charts, where they have been permanent guests with every new record since.

Due to the Corona pandemic, the band had to postpone their planned 20th anniversary world tour; instead, they went back into the studio to record "Colors II", a sequel to their internal band examination, this time triggered by external factors. "Colors II" is already their tenth album and is also considered by experts to be their most exciting - because their progressive metal has never sounded so independent and unmistakable.

The joint concert is an absolute must for all fans of the progressive metal genre.

Buy ticket

Additional information
Events
Datum
Heimathafen Neukölln

Direkt zum Inhalt

LIVE / Island in Limbo Tour EU/UK 2023

Was Haken für das Vereinigte Königreich, sind Between The Buried And Me für die USA: die jeweils spannendste und erfolgreichste Progressive-Metal-Band des Landes. Über viele Jahre und Alben haben sich beide Bands weltweit eine treue Fangemeinde erspielt und kommen nun gemeinsam im Rahmen ihrer Island In Limbo-Tour auch nach Deutschland.

HAKEN
HAKEN Promo

Dabei haben beide Bands jeweils ihr aktuelles Album im Gepäck: Haken veröffentlichten 2020 den Longplayer »Virus«; Between The Buried And Me reüssierten 2021 mit dem Werk »Colors II«.

Als Sänger Ross Jennings, Multiinstrumentalist Richard Henshall und Gitarrist Matthew Marshall im Jahr 2007 in London die Band Haken gründeten, waren sie noch Teenager. Anfangs unternahmen die drei vor allem sogenannte »Bedroom Jams«, bis drei weitere Musiker das Line-up komplettierten. Mit Bassist Thomas McLean, Keyboarder Pete Jones und Drummer Raymond Hearne war die Besetzung zunächst komplett, wobei Pete Jones und Gründungsmitglied Matthew Marshall noch vor Veröffentlichung des Debütalbums von Charles Griffiths and der Gitarre und Diego Tejeida an den Tasten ersetzt wurden.

Als 2010 das erste Album »Aquarius« erschien, hatte die Band ihren Stil gefunden: Im Kern spielten sie einen technisch anspruchsvollen Progressive Metal, der aber auch vor elektronischen Elementen nicht zurückschreckt. Seit dem dritten Album »The Mountain«, ihrem internationalen Durchbruch, klettert jede Platte europaweit in die Charts. So stieg etwa das aktuelle Werk »Virus« bis auf Platz 12 in Deutschland und Platz 7 in der Schweiz. Interessant dürften die kommenden Auftritte auch deshalb werden, weil nach dem Ausstieg von Diego Tejeida Ende vergangenen Jahres nun das Gründungsmitglied Pete Jones zur Band zurückgekehrt ist.

Between The Buried And Me gründeten sich im Jahr 2000 in Raleigh/North Carolina. Auch dieses Quintett, das nach einigen Besetzungswechseln in ihrer Frühphase seit 2004 aus den beiden Gründungsmitgliedern Tommy Rogers (Gesang/Keyboard) und Paul Waggoner (Gitarre) sowie den später hinzu gekommenen Dustin Waring (Gitarre), Blake Richardson (Drums) und Dan Briggs (Bass) besteht, hat seine Wurzeln im anspruchsvollen Progressive Metal. Jenen ergänzen sie aber, je nach Inhalt ihrer Alben, um Elemente aus technisch kompliziertem Death Metal, Metalcore, Avantgarde-Metal und Trash Metal, nur um einen Moment später nach druckvollem Alternative Rock zu klingen.

Durch diese Vielzahl an Stilen standen Between The Buried And Me stets ein wenig zwischen den Stühlen und gehörten keiner richtigen Szene an – ein Alleinstellungsmerkmal, das sie auf ihrem vierten Album »Colors« von 2007 zum Hauptthema machten. Es war zugleich das erste ihrer Alben, das bis in die Top 100 der Billboard Charts stieg, wo sie seither Dauergast mit jeder neuen Platte sind.

Bedingt durch die Corona-Pandemie musste die Band ihre geplante Welttournee zum 20-jährigen Bestehen verschieben; stattdessen ging sie erneut ins Studio, um »Colors II« einzuspielen, ein Sequel zu ihrer bandinternen Innenbetrachtung, diesmal ausgelöst durch äußere Faktoren. »Colors II« ist dabei bereits ihr zehntes Album und gilt zugleich in der Fachwelt als ihr spannendstes – denn derart eigenständig und unverwechselbar hat ihr Progressive Metal noch nie geklungen.

Das gemeinsame Konzert ist ein absoluter Pflichttermin für alle Fans des Progressive-Metal-Genres.

Ticket kaufen

Zusätzliche Informationen
Termine
Datum
Heimathafen Neukölln