Skip to main content
Rathaus Kiez in Pankow, Blick auf das Rathaus Pankow
Rathaus Kiez in Pankow, Blick auf das Rathaus Pankow © visumate GmbH, Foto: Antje Queisner
Top Event

Großes B – dreizehnmal Stadt

Cooperation project between the Stadtmuseum Berlin and the twelve Berlin district museums

As part of the city's 100th anniversary, the project Großes B - dreizehnmal Stadt invites visitors to learn about the historical development in the districts and their individual challenges in addition to the central large-scale exhibition in the Märkisches Museum.


 
April 23 - October 4, 2020 | FRIEDRICHSHAIN-KREUZBERG

Neighborhood Stories - 100 Years of Friedrichshain and Kreuzberg

1920 traditionless buffer districts - 2020 symbols known beyond the city limits, resistant, alternative, thoroughly gentrified: The exhibition at the FHXB Museum takes you to places and tells stories that have shaped Friedrichshain and Kreuzberg over the past 100 years and continue to do so today.


27 January - 28 June 2020 | STEGLITZ-ZEHLENDORF

NEW, GREAT, GREEN - 100 years of architectural modernity in the southwest of Berlin

An exhibition in the Gutshaus Steglitz and Schwartzsche Villa, curated by BEST projekte für baukultur und stadt, is dedicated to the subject of Greater Berlin and its consequences for Steglitz and Zehlendorf. Using 12 representative examples of New Construction in Steglitz and Zehlendorf and the six key terms "NEU", "GROSS", "GRÜN", "GEMEINSCHAFT"; "BEWEGT" and "ARBEIT", the exhibition shows how Berlin developed into a field of experimentation for modernism from 1920 onwards.

 
24 April - 23 August 2020 | REINICKENDORF

In the middle of Reinickendorf.

100 years (Greater) Berlin Reinickendorf reflects the situation of Berlin: It has many different centres and public spaces. The exhibition shows how these spaces have developed and what they mean to residents today.

 
August 26, 2020 - May 30, 2021 | STADTMUSEUM BERLIN

Chaos & Departure Berlin 1920|2020

The Stadtmuseum Berlin presents the central special exhibition for the anniversary year at the Märkisches Museum. How can big cities succeed? A historical and a current time level invite you on a voyage of discovery that leads from problems to approaches to solutions and their future potential. The central themes then and now - housing, transport, recreation, administration, links to the surrounding area and belonging - are not only examined historically and scientifically, but also artistically, participatively and journalistically in order to provide impulses and food for thought.


8 May - 27 December 2020 | NEUKÖLLN

Neukölln becomes a big city

The exhibition shows at eight exemplary selected locations in the district how city life has changed for its inhabitants in the various historical phases from 1920 to the present. In the exhibition, Neukölln is seen as an urban laboratory that has to cope with all the relevant problems of modern cities. It also takes into account current urban policy approaches that offer Neukölln residents the opportunity to actively shape the future of their city. 

 
May 17 - December 20, 2020 | LICHTENBERG

Oskar Ziethen - Lichtenberg's local politician with farsightedness

Lichtenberg's mayor Oskar Ziethen has been interested from the beginning of his term of office in 1896 in connecting the community, which is developing into a city, to Berlin. Despite the rejection of his idea by the Berlin magistrate, he remained an active advocate of the intertwining of Berlin's core and cycling communities, first in the process of forming special-purpose associations and later in the process of bringing about the large municipality. In 1924 the magistrate honoured him for this by appointing him the 100th town elder of Berlin.

 
May 18, 2020 - January 24, 2021 (main exhibition in the Zeughaus) | SPANDAU

Thank you! Spandau and the founding of Greater Berlin 1920

What led to the Spandau identity? In the area of conflict between the Berlin administration / Spandau's magistrate and the everyday life of the inhabitants of Spandau, the tram travels to various thematic stops on traffic, work, leisure, housing and the military, which were characteristic of Spandau around 1920 and fundamental to the (self-)perception of Spandau today. Objects, texts and participative possibilities reflect the change from the stubborn city to the self-ironic part of Berlin.


19 June - 16 November 2020 (exhibition in the Gothic House) | SPANDAU Spandau Art and Culture in Greater Berlin


12 June 2020 - 3 January 2021 (Schöneberg Museum) | TEMPELHOF - SCHÖNEBERG

16 June 2020 - 3 January 2021 (Schöneberg Museum) January 2021 (Tempelhof Museum) | TEMPELHOF - SCHÖNEBERG

New construction, new living Settlements of the Weimar Republic in Tempelhof-Schöneberg Housing shortage and housing misery were central challenges for Berlin during the Weimar Republic. Numerous housing projects were developed around the questions of ideal building and living quality. The exhibitions in the Schöneberg Museum and the Tempelhof Museum shed light on the regional approaches in both districts of the new municipality of Greater Berlin.


October - December 2020 | TREPTOW - KÖPENICK

"We don't come empty-handed" - The districts of Treptow-Köpenick and their way to Greater Berlin in 1920

Particular focus is placed on the 15 districts of today's Treptow-Köpenick district and the question of centre, periphery and their interaction. How much "Berlin" is hidden in the districts of Treptow-Köpenick and what radiant power do these districts have on Berlin in reverse.

 
17 August 2020 - 16 April 2021 | MARZAHN - HELLERSDORF

StadtRandLage. Ein Marzahn - Hellersdorfer ABC

From A for Alice-Salomon-Hochschule to Z for forced labor in the NS era:
Based on the conditions and the course of the incorporation of the communities that until then had belonged to the Niederbarnim district, the exhibition outlines the eventful history of relations between Marzahn-Hellersdorf and Berlin in historical and contemporary examples.


August 2020 - January 2021 | CHARLOTTENBURG - WILMERSDORF

Suburbia or metropolis? Charlottenburg, Wilmersdorf and Greater Berlin

The exhibition focuses on the resistance in today's districts of Charlottenburg and Wilmersdorf against the administrative unification and examines the questions with which interests the suburbs were defended against the "Moloch Berlin" and what they finally brought into the unified community.  


November 13, 2020 - June 27, 2021 | MITTE

The town hall of Wedding. A new town hall for a new district

An instruction manualThe exhibition deals with the history of the town hall of Wedding from 1928/1930, which embodied the idea of a new administration in the unitary municipality of Greater Berlin of 1920 as a democratically structured, functional city. At the same time, the exhibition draws a bow to the present: 100 years later, a new town hall is planned in the Mitte district, in the building complex of the former "House of Statistics". Does this too want to be a "Town Hall of the Future", like the Town Hall of Wedding?  


Autumn 2020 - Spring 2021 | PANKOW

Pioneers of modern social work - Prenzlauer Berg District Youth Welfare Office since 1920

The exhibition focuses on the reform efforts of public youth welfare work after 1920. As a practitioner and teacher in youth social work, Walter Friedländer left his mark on the Prenzlauer Berg Youth Welfare Office far beyond the district. In selecting the staff, he took unusual paths for a district office. 

Further information is available at www.grossesb.berlin.

Event calendar

Direkt zum Inhalt
Rathaus Kiez in Pankow, Blick auf das Rathaus Pankow
Rathaus Kiez in Pankow, Blick auf das Rathaus Pankow © visumate GmbH, Foto: Antje Queisner
Top-Veranstaltung

Großes B – dreizehnmal Stadt

Kooperationsprojekt des Stadtmuseums Berlin mit den zwölf Berliner Bezirksmuseen

Im Rahmen des Stadtjubiläums 100 Jahre Groß-Berlin lädt das Projekt Großes B - dreizehnmal Stadt dazu ein, neben der zentralen Großausstellung im Märkischen Museum auch die geschichtliche Entwicklung in den Bezirken und deren individuelle Herausforderungen kennzulernen.



27. Januar – 28. Juni 2020 | STEGLITZ–ZEHLENDORF

NEU, GROSS, GRÜN – 100 Jahre Architekturmoderne im Berliner Südwesten

Dem Themnefeld Groß-Berlin und die Folgen für Steglitz und Zehlendorf widmet sich eine Ausstellung im Gutshaus Steglitz und Schwartzsche Villa,, kuratierit von BEST projekte für baukultur und stadt. Anhand von 12 repräsentativen Beispielen des Neuen Bauens in Steglitz und Zehlendorf und den sechs Schlüsselbegriffen „NEU“, „GROSS“, „GRÜN“, „GEMEINSCHAFT“; „BEWEGT“ und „ARBEIT“ zeigt die Ausstellung, wie sich Berlin ab 1920 zum Experimentierfeld der Moderne entwickelte.


23. April – 4. Oktober 2020 | FRIEDRICHSHAIN–KREUZBERG

Kiezgeschichten – 100 Jahre Friedrichshain und Kreuzberg

1920 traditionslose Pufferbezirke - 2020 über die Stadtgrenzen hinaus bekannte Symbole, widerständig, alternativ, durchgentrifiziert: Die Ausstellung im FHXB Museum führt an Orte und erzählt Geschichten, die Friedrichshain und Kreuzberg in den vergangenen 100 Jahren bestimmten und bis heute prägen.  


24. April – 23. August  2020 | REINICKENDORF

Mitten in Reinickendorf.

100 Jahre (Groß-)Berlin Reinickendorf spiegelt die Situation Berlins: Es hat viele verschiedene Mitten und öffentliche Räume. Die Ausstellung zeigt auf, wie sich diese Räume entwickelt haben und was sie der Bewohnerschaft heute bedeuten.

 
26. April 2020 – 10. Januar 2021  |  STADTMUSEUM BERLIN

Chaos & Aufbruch Berlin 1920|2020

Das Stadtmuseum Berlin präsentiert im Märkischen Museum die zentrale Sonderausstellung zum Jubiläumsjahr. Wie kann Großstadt gelingen? Eine historische und eine aktuelle Zeitebene laden zu einer Entdeckungsreise ein, die von Problemen bis zu Lösungsansätzen und deren Zukunftspotential führt. Die damals wie heute zentralen Themen Wohnen, Verkehr, Erholung, Verwaltung, Umlands-Anbindung und Zugehörigkeit werden dabei nicht nur historisch und wissenschaftlich untersucht, sondern auch künstlerisch, partizipativ und journalistisch, um Impulse zu setzen und Denkanstöße zu geben.


8. Mai – 27. Dezember 2020  | NEUKÖLLN

Neukölln wird Großstadt

Die Ausstellung zeigt an acht exemplarisch ausgewählten Orten  des Bezirks wie sich das Stadtleben für seine Bewohner*innen in den unterschiedlichen historischen Phasen von 1920 bis heute verändert hat. Neukölln wird in der Ausstellung als ein Stadtlabor begriffen, das alle relevanten Probleme moderner Großstädte zu bewältigen hat. Berücksichtigung finden dabei auch aktuelle stadtpolitische Ansätze, die den Neuköllner*innen Chancen bieten, die Zukunft ihrer Stadt aktiv mitzugestalten. 

 
17. Mai – 20. Dezember 2020  | LICHTENBERG

Oskar Ziethen – Lichtenberger Kommunalpolitiker mit Weitblick

Lichtenbergs Bürgermeister Oskar Ziethen ist vom Beginn seiner Amtszeit 1896 um einen Anschluss der sich zur Stadt entwickelnden Kommune an Berlin interessiert. Trotz Ablehnung seines Ansinnens seitens des Berliner Magistrats bleibt er ein aktiver Verfechter der Verflechtung der Kern- und Radkommunen Berlins, zunächst im Prozess der Bildung von Zweckverbänden und später bei der Herbeiführung der Groß-Kommune. Dafür ehrt ihn der Magistrat 1924 mit der Ernennung zum 100. Stadtältesten Berlins.

 
18. Mai 2020 – 24. Januar 2021  (Hauptausstellung im Zeughaus) | SPANDAU

Jein danke! Spandau und die Gründung von Groß-Berlin 1920

Was hat zur Spandauer Identität geführt? Im Spannungsfeld zwischen Berliner Verwaltung / Spandauer Magistrat und dem Alltag der Bewohner*innen Spandaus werden mit der Straßenbahn verschiedene Themen-Haltestellen zu Verkehr, Arbeit, Freizeit, Wohnen und Militär abgefahren, die prägend für Spandau um 1920 waren und grundlegend für die heutige (Selbst-)Wahrnehmung Spandaus. Dabei spiegeln Objekte, Texte und partizipative Möglichkeiten den Wandel von der störrischen Stadt zum selbstironischen Teil Berlins.


19. Juni – 16. November 2020 (Ausstellung im Gotischen Haus)  | SPANDAU Spandauer Kunst und Kultur in Großberlin  


12. Juni 2020 – 3. Januar 2021  (Schöneberg Museum) | TEMPELHOF – SCHÖNEBERG

16. Juni 2020 – 3. Januar 2021  (Tempelhof Museum) | TEMPELHOF – SCHÖNEBERG

Neues Bauen, neues Wohnen Siedlungen der Weimarer Republik in Tempelhof-Schöneberg Wohnungsnot und Wohnungselend waren zentrale Herausforderungen Berlins in der Weimarer Republik. Rund um die Fragen nach idealem Bauen und lebenswertem Wohnen entstanden zahlreiche Siedlungsprojekte. Die Ausstellungen im Schöneberg Museum und im Tempelhof Museum beleuchten die regionalen Ansätze in den beiden Bezirken der neuen Stadtgemeinde Groß-Berlin.


Oktober – Dezember 2020 | TREPTOW – KÖPENICK

„Wir kommen nicht mit leeren Händen“ – Die Ortsteile von Treptow-Köpenick und ihr Weg nach Groß-Berlin im Jahr 1920

Besonders im Fokus stehen die 15 Ortsteile des heutigen Bezirks Treptow-Köpenick sowie die Frage nach Zentrum, Peripherie und deren Wechselwirkung. Wie viel „Berlin“ steckt in den Ortsteilen von Treptow-Köpenick und welche Strahlkraft haben diese umkehrt auf Berlin.

 
17. August 2020 – 16. April 2021 | MARZAHN – HELLERSDORF

StadtRandLage. Ein Marzahn – Hellersdorfer ABC

Von A wie Alice-Salomon-Hochschule bis Z wie Zwangsarbeit in der NS-Zeit: Ausgehend von den Bedingungen und dem Verlauf der Eingemeindung der bis dahin zum Kreis Niederbarnim gehörenden Gemeinden umreißt die Ausstellung die wechselvolle Beziehungsgeschichte zwischen Marzahn-Hellersdorf und Berlin in historischen und aktuellen Bespielen.


August 2020 – Januar 2021 | CHARLOTTENBURG – WILMERSDORF

Vorort oder Weltstadt? Charlottenburg, Wilmersdorf und Groß-Berlin

Die Ausstellung thematisiert den Widerstand in den heutigen Bezirken Charlottenburg und Wilmersdorf gegen die administrative Vereinigung und geht den Fragen nach, mit welchen Interessen die Vororte gegen den „Moloch Berlin“ verteidigt wurden und was sie schließlich in die Einheitsgemeinde einbrachten.


10. Oktober 2020 – 31. Januar 2021 | MITTE

Das Rathaus Wedding 1930.  Ein neues Rathaus für einen neuen Bezirk. Eine Gebrauchsanleitung

Die Ausstellung befasst sich mit der Geschichte des Rathauses Wedding von 1928/1930. Das Rathausgebäude an der Müllerstraße verkörperte die Idee einer neuen Verwaltung in der Einheitsgemeinde Groß-Berlin von 1920 als demokratisch strukturierte, funktionale Stadt. Die Ausstellung schlägt zugleich einen Bogen in die Gegenwart: 100 Jahre später wird im Bezirk Mitte wieder ein neues Rathaus geplant, im Baukomplex des ehemaligen "Hauses der Statistik". Will auch dies, wie einst das Rathaus Wedding, ein „Rathaus der Zukunft" sein?


Herbst  2020 – Frühjahr 2021  | PANKOW

Pioniere der modernen Sozialarbeit – Das Bezirksjugendamt Prenzlauer Berg seit 1920

Die Ausstellung thematisiert die Reformbemühungen der öffentlichen Jugendwohlfahrtsarbeit nach 1920. Als Praktiker und Lehrender in der Jugendsozialarbeit prägte Walter Friedländer das Jugendamt Prenzlauer Berg weit über den Bezirk hinaus. Bei der Auswahl der Mitarbeiterschaft beschritt er für ein  Bezirksamt ungewöhnliche Wege.  

Weitere Informationen unter www.grossesb.berlin


Veranstaltungskalender