Skip to main content

Special Guests: Frank Turner & The Sleeping Souls+, Johnossi°, Pabst^

Billy Talent were not alone, but they were responsible for the worldwide triumph of the punk revival at the beginning of the millennium. But fans of Canada's most successful punk and alternative rock band had to wait a whole six years for new songs. The sixth Billy Talent album "Crisis of Faith" immediately climbed to the top of the charts in Germany and Canada. The quartet proves on its worldwide tours that it is one of the best live bands in modern rock music, turning every concert into a happening of pure energy and unconditional passion.

Billy Talent
Billy Talent Dustin Rabin

The fact that the Canadians climb the charts with every new album and even have a permanent subscription to the top position in their home country and in Germany is something they have really earned. The three new singles "Reckless Paradise", "I Beg to Differ (This Will Get Better)" and "End of Me" also reached number 1 in the German and Canadian airplay charts and were streamed over 50 million times even before the album was released.

The four high school buddies Benjamin Kowalewicz (vocals), Ian D'Sa (guitar), Jonathan Gallant (bass) and Aaron Solowoniuk, who formed the Billy Talent predecessor "Pezz" in 1993, wanted to make music that was missing from their radio at the time.  Punk and alternative rock somewhere between Foo Fighters and Refused, Buzzcocks and The Offspring.

After renaming the band project Billy Talent in 1999, they found their musical home between melodic punk, loud post-hardcore and driving alternative rock. Their first single, released in 2003, set the standard for everything that was to follow in the next two decades: "Try Honesty".
decades to follow: "Try Honesty". The simply titled "Billy Talent" debut convinced critics and fans scenes and remained in countless annual best lists of magazines and radios. This helped the band not only to a rapidly growing, but also rare heterogeneous fan base, which catapulted them from newcomer to the headliner positions of the biggest international rock festivals within a few years.

Buy ticket

Additional information
Events
Datum
Max-Schmeling-Halle

Direkt zum Inhalt

Billy Talent waren zwar nicht allein, aber federführend verantwortlich für den weltweiten Siegeszug des Punk-Revivals Anfang des Jahrtausends. Doch ganze sechs Jahre mussten die Fans von Kanadas erfolgreichster Punk- und Alternative Rock-Band auf neue Songs warten. Das sechste Billy Talent Album „Crisis of Faith“ kletterte in Deutschland und Kanada aber sofort wieder an die Spitze der Charts. Das Quartett beweist bei seinen weltweiten Tourneen, dass es zu den besten Livebands der modernen Rockmusik gehört, die jedes Konzert zu einem Happening aus purer Energie und bedingungsloser Leidenschaft machen.

Billy Talent
Billy Talent © Dustin Rabin

Dass die Kanadier mit jedem neuen Album die Charts erklimmen und in ihrer Heimat und in Deutschland sogar ein Dauer-Abo auf die Spitzenposition besitzen, haben sie sich wirklich verdient. Die drei neuen Singles „Reckless Paradise“, „I Beg to Differ (This Will Get Better)“ und „End of Me” kamen ebenfalls bis auf Platz 1 der deutschen und kanadischen Airplay-Charts und wurden bereits vor Erscheinen des Albums über 50 Millionen Mal gestreamt.

Die vier High School-Kumpels Benjamin Kowalewicz (Vocals), Ian D'Sa (Gitarre), Jonathan Gallant (Bass) und Aaron Solowoniuk, die 1993 den Billy Talent Vorläufer "Pezz" gründeten, wollten Musik machen, die ihnen damals im Radio fehlte.  Punk- und Alternative Rock irgendwo zwischen Foo Fighters und Refused, Buzzcocks und The Offspring.

Nach der Umbenennung des Bandprojekts in Billy Talent im Jahr 1999 fanden sie zu ihrem musikalischen Zuhause zwischen melodiösem Punk, lautem Post-Hardcore und treibenden Alternative-Rock. Dabei setzte gleich die erste, 2003 veröffentlichte Single inhaltlich den Standard für alles, was in den kommenden zwei
Jahrzehnten folgen sollte: „Try Honesty“ („Versuch’s mit Ehrlichkeit“). Das schlicht „Billy Talent“ betitelte Debüt überzeugte Kritik und Fans Szenen und blieb in zahllosen Jahresbestenlisten von Magazinen und Radios hängen. Was der Band nicht nur zu einer rasant wachsenden, sondern auch seltenen heterogenen Fanbasis verhalf, die sie innerhalb weniger Jahre vom Newcomer auf die Headliner-Positionen der größten internationalen Rockfestivals katapultierte.


Ticket kaufen

Zusätzliche Informationen
Termine
Datum
Max-Schmeling-Halle